Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
By far this is one of my favorite dishes. I love traditional Indian food and all of its spices, but unfortunately don't get enough of it. I've had this dish made by many different chefs and the flavor in this is right there with the best of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Recipe looks great ! Can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Riv969
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
So freaking good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riv969

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Outstanding, simple prep, easy to understand, easily accessible ingredients. Yep, it's hot. I didn't have any serranos on hand so I subbed some red pepper flakes AND used the full amount of cayenne. I also used organic extra virgin coconut oil for the saute which added a dimension of flavor. This one goes on heavy rotation when cauliflower is in season. I used an enamel coated cast iron Le Creuset pot to make this in. Potatoes having the starch that they do did stick to the bottom. I added small amounts of water during the process to deglaze the pot just a bit, which kind of sped up the cook time. For beginners I'd recommend a good quality non-stick pot with a lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good! Would be even better in a dutch oven. I left out the peppers because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
made exactly as specified.... love it and make it on a weekly basis now. serve over coconut jasmine rice. i do love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was easy to prepare, flavorful and made my house smell so good. My picky husband and son both loved it. I served it with grilled tandoori chicken and buttery basmati rice. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This turned out pretty tasty! I reduced the salt by half because I need to limit sodium, and I left out the serrano peppers so the rest of the family could eat it. Instead of paprika, I used powdered red chiles, so I cut the cayenne in half. The heat turned out just right for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. However, it has taken me a few tries to figure out how to best orchestrate cooking all of the elements without scorching/turning things to mush/etc. The following works well for me: Cover the potatoes and cook them in some vegetable oil until they are pierceable but not fully done, stirring occasionally (takes around 10 minutes for me, but I usually double the recipe). Take them off the heat, THEN proceed with the recipe as written, adding the potatoes back in at the same time as the cauliflower. Also, I definitely recommend adding a bit of water to the spice mixture to form a paste--it prevents scorching so you don't end up with a nondescript "burnt Indian spice" flavor, but rather the fantastic combination of spices given in the recipe. Finally, I usually add a total of about a 1/2 cup of water while the whole dish is cooking, spread out over the full cooking time. You might get by without it, but it helps things to soften a little more quickly. The dish never comes out crunchy for me, but I honestly don't mind at all. Really a great (and super cheap, if you buy bulk spices!) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States