Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was good and I will make this again. My house smelled like an Indian restaurant as I was making this. Chile peppers were omitted because I didn't have any. It will still moderately spicy. After 20 minutes, the cauliflower was still crunchy, so I ended up cooking it almost double the length stated in the recipe. I served it with whole wheat pitas and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Overall pretty darn good. But we found it to be so spicy it was almost inedible. Next time I will cut down on the cayenne pepper. I also found that the cooking time was almost double what was recommended, to get my cauliflower cooked all the way through. I also substituted chickpeas for potatoes, chopped ginger for the ginger paste, added cilantro and used the entire can of coconut milk because I wanted it saucy. Served over rice and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband and I love spicy food so this was a great recipe for us! This is not for those who prefer mild dishes. Like Candice, I wanted the dish to be a little saucy so it could be served over rice. I used about 3/4 can of coconut milk. Also, I read the reviews which state that the cauliflower takes too long to cook. So while I was preparing the rest of the dish, I steamed the cauliflower in a separate pot. Then I added the steamed cauliflower to the dish to cut down on the cook time. Don't steam too much or the cauliflower will become mushy after cooking it with the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I omitted the spicy peppers to fit my four year old, and had to add a bit of water to assist in steaming the cauliflower. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Pretty good recipe... although I did leave out the peppers (it was plenty spicy for me without!). I would cut the potatoes smaller, the cauliflower was done faster than the potatoes. I used a dutch oven to make this... probably would work better with a non-stick pan... all the spices were sticking to the bottom of the pot. I did de-glaze with some stock to pick these bits up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I don't know why, but I had a really hard time with this recipe. The potatoes and spices scorched my pan badly. I added the oil so I don't know what went wrong. I used a nonstick pot. I'm perplexed. I was determined to make it work, so I added a little water and a tad more oil just to keep it from burning. Needless to say, it didn't come out crunchy :( I only cooked mine for the time given, and I liked the crunchier contrast of the cauliflower. I left out the peppers which was a mistake in my opinion, I should have used at least 1/2 of one since I was only cooking for four people. However, in the end of this culinary fiasco, this tasted good. Therefor, I give it four stars. I may try it again tomorrow and see if I can figure it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
By far this is one of my favorite dishes. I love traditional Indian food and all of its spices, but unfortunately don't get enough of it. I've had this dish made by many different chefs and the flavor in this is right there with the best of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Riv969
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
So freaking good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riv969

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
humm... maybe I didn't something wrong but it didn't taste very good... the after taste of turmeric made it a little bitter and metalic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States