Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
So good!! I would recommend adding fresh garlic to this recipe, it really made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
THIS IS SO GOOD. I followed the recipe with the exception of using only 1/2 of a serrano chili. For the final step, 20 minutes resulted in overcooked potatoes and overcooked cauliflower, so the next time I made this, I set the timer for 15 and it came out better. Just make sure you watch your flame. When I had three pans cooking on my stovetop, medium worked fine, but when I made it the second time the aloo gobi was the only thing on the stovetop and it burned a little. I do have a craptastic stove, so maybe it's just my luck. When I make this again (and I will!), I'll be setting the final timer for 13 minutes and checking on the doneness. I paired this with a sweet and savory rice side and extra garlicky madras curry chicken drumsticks that were crisped in the oven and it was great. Pungent, spicy, sweet, savory, salty, it's all there! :D I took away a star due to no indication of the variability of the final cook time, which could result in food that is overdone at best, or burnt at worst. When you're cooking four things at once, you can't be watching each pan like a hawk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I don't know why so many reviewers want to make is saucy, the description indicates it is meant to be fried in oil at the end to finish it like home fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This was easy to prepare, flavorful and made my house smell so good. My picky husband and son both loved it. I served it with grilled tandoori chicken and buttery basmati rice. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This turned out pretty tasty! I reduced the salt by half because I need to limit sodium, and I left out the serrano peppers so the rest of the family could eat it. Instead of paprika, I used powdered red chiles, so I cut the cayenne in half. The heat turned out just right for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe. However, it has taken me a few tries to figure out how to best orchestrate cooking all of the elements without scorching/turning things to mush/etc. The following works well for me: Cover the potatoes and cook them in some vegetable oil until they are pierceable but not fully done, stirring occasionally (takes around 10 minutes for me, but I usually double the recipe). Take them off the heat, THEN proceed with the recipe as written, adding the potatoes back in at the same time as the cauliflower. Also, I definitely recommend adding a bit of water to the spice mixture to form a paste--it prevents scorching so you don't end up with a nondescript "burnt Indian spice" flavor, but rather the fantastic combination of spices given in the recipe. Finally, I usually add a total of about a 1/2 cup of water while the whole dish is cooking, spread out over the full cooking time. You might get by without it, but it helps things to soften a little more quickly. The dish never comes out crunchy for me, but I honestly don't mind at all. Really a great (and super cheap, if you buy bulk spices!) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Outstanding, simple prep, easy to understand, easily accessible ingredients. Yep, it's hot. I didn't have any serranos on hand so I subbed some red pepper flakes AND used the full amount of cayenne. I also used organic extra virgin coconut oil for the saute which added a dimension of flavor. This one goes on heavy rotation when cauliflower is in season. I used an enamel coated cast iron Le Creuset pot to make this in. Potatoes having the starch that they do did stick to the bottom. I added small amounts of water during the process to deglaze the pot just a bit, which kind of sped up the cook time. For beginners I'd recommend a good quality non-stick pot with a lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
made exactly as specified.... love it and make it on a weekly basis now. serve over coconut jasmine rice. i do love spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good! Would be even better in a dutch oven. I left out the peppers because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I have made at least 4 different versions and this was by far and away the best! My cauliflower came out mushy, though, which is what usually happens. I think part of my problem is not having the correct style pan. Great flavor! Overall, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States