Aloo Gobi Masala (Cauliflower and Potato Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe was wonderful as is. If it gets a little dry, I would just add a little chicken broth. I did add 1/2 tsp. more curry powder, but otherwise I made as is. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe. The microwave idea worked very well. I added some clove ... just a tad bit. And a couple of shakes of cinnamon. Learned that from my favorite Indian restaurant. Would also like to know how to make it with a gravy. Probably need to stew the potatoes, first. I'll try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I saute the curry just after the cumin. Doing so activates the full flavor of the spice. I take the long way and steam the cauli and potatoes. I also add peas near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I thought this turned out great! I made a few amendments though... Like other reviewers, I prefer not to cook in the microwave if possible. And since I don't have a steamer, I couldn't steam the veggies. Instead, I boiled the cauliflower in chicken stock for 12 minutes, then removed them from the water. Then I boiled the potatoes in the same broth for about 20-25 minutes (until they were soft-ish). Then cooked it all together. I like it spicy, so I added 1 teaspoon of garam masala and 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It turned out so delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
One of my favorite Indian dishes. I omitted the tomato (for our picky 6 year old). Added turmeric, coriander, garam masala, and a pinch of paprika. I served it with a small dollop of plain yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I like this recipe quite a bit. I, like many of the other reviewers, don't microwave cooking much, so, I first roasted the potatoes and cauliflower for 25 min at 475 F instead and it worked out very well. I added peas, too. If you want this dish saucy, I suggest using canned crushed tomatoes instead of fresh. This way,you can adjust sauciness to your liking by varying qty of tomato. I used about 1/2 of a large 28 oz can and it came out great. As others reported, Veg broth would probably work, as well, but, I didn't have any. I also suggest that you double the amount of curry powder that vburrito's published recipe calls for. Bob Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made it according to the recipe at first, and it was dry and flavorless. I ended up tripling the amount of spices, adding 1 cup of water (may need less at sea level), added peas and increased the number of tomatoes. It also ended up being 8-10 servings, not 6. Perhaps, it was intended to use smaller potatoes, but the recipe had no indication of potato type, weight, or volume. There are many other Cauliflower and Potato Curry recipes on this site that don't need extensive modification. Use one of those, and steer clear of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was actually very quick and tasteful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
OK, seriously amazing. I love this dish anyway, but the idea of microwaving the potatoes and cauliflower to cut cooking time...brilliant. I sorta merged two versions of this recipe...an old cookbook which had a bunch of spices and traditional cooking methods and this recipe which had modern versions and methods in it. Kept the tomatoes (awesome), used the microwave for the potatoes and cauliflower (brilliant), eliminated the oil (cooking spray), used real ginger and garlic (tsp each), no curry powder as I hate it (sub garam masala for pure awesomeness). Amazingly, this does not include turmeric or cumin (~1/2 tsp each), which I consider crucial (very earthy) but in a pinch the recipe is sufficient as is. I have tried paneer, carrots, chicken, and sweet potatoes for this recipe (dependent on what I have on-hand), all amazing in their own right. If you like a creamier gravy add equal parts milk or cream + broth to the sauce at the end. simmer until thickened. Serves well with chopped cilantro, mango chutney and/or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I used the ingredient list to make a non-microwave recipe of this dish and it was OK. Don't use this exact recipe if you plan to prepare on the stove top; the recipe needs some adaptations (but I haven't worked out what yet!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States