Aloo Gobi ki Subzi (Potatoes and Cauliflower) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
The additions suggested by ZOPOOH were perfect. I would also recommend following the suggestion to add the cauliflower after the potatoes to avoid it disintegrating. Not that I would know anything about that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Yummy and easier than I thought it would be! My brother, who is vegetarian and eats Indian food all the time, said it tasted better than the stuff he gets at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yum! I've now tried 3 aloo gobi recipes from this site, and this has been the best one yet. Perfect spiciness for me! I didn't use the asofoetida because I'm nowhere near a place that sells it, but it was wonderful without. Unlike the other aloo gobis, this one didn't scorch my pan, and it didn't burn my mouth :) I loved the addition of the roma tomatoes, they make a kind of coating on the potatoes and cauliflower. I only used 1/2 a head of cauliflower because it was all I had, and I thought that ratio to be good. Brava! Note* Make sure you cube the potato small, or the pieces won't cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I like a little extra liquid, so added a can of stewed tomatoes. With that, I needed to add add'tl seasoning. Very yummy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was very tasty. I made a few additions and changes: added a couple onions and garlic after the spices, threw in a little generic curry powder, increased turmeric, eliminated sugar, added frozen peas, cilantro and little lemon when finishing up the cooking. I did not have the asafoetida powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have made this recipe MANY times and love it. I make way more than 2 servings though! It is great as a left-over and I think tastes better warmed-up than fresh out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
excellent recipe-but water/ two pats butter/ 1/4 to 1/3 c cream should be added to cook the cauliflower and potato-enough to fill pan about 1/2 inch or so, if using a large frying pan. keep pan covered until gets boiling, then can take lid off and simmer. you will end up with a great sauce. love this recipe! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Diener

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I liked this recipe very much. I just added some chopped garlic and cilantro. Thank you for recipe. I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
As written I thought this dish was lacking the Indian taste I like so much. I didn't use the asafoetida. It was very bland so I made the following changes. I used two cans Of diced tomatoes undrained instead of the romas, added more tumeric and cumin seeds, a dash of nutmeg, and some chili garlic paste and served over rice. The end result delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Pretty decent all the way around. I added more than a pinch of turmeric; the asafoetida was, as in any dish, unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States