Aloo Gobi ki Subzi (Potatoes and Cauliflower) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yum! I've now tried 3 aloo gobi recipes from this site, and this has been the best one yet. Perfect spiciness for me! I didn't use the asofoetida because I'm nowhere near a place that sells it, but it was wonderful without. Unlike the other aloo gobis, this one didn't scorch my pan, and it didn't burn my mouth :) I loved the addition of the roma tomatoes, they make a kind of coating on the potatoes and cauliflower. I only used 1/2 a head of cauliflower because it was all I had, and I thought that ratio to be good. Brava! Note* Make sure you cube the potato small, or the pieces won't cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Pretty decent all the way around. I added more than a pinch of turmeric; the asafoetida was, as in any dish, unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
Thank you so much for this recipe! I added some garlic powder and substituted canned chopped tomatoes in place of the fresh. I have tried to order this recipe in restaurants but it never seems to look/taste the way I like it. Finally, I found what I was looking for. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have made this recipe MANY times and love it. I make way more than 2 servings though! It is great as a left-over and I think tastes better warmed-up than fresh out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Yummy and easier than I thought it would be! My brother, who is vegetarian and eats Indian food all the time, said it tasted better than the stuff he gets at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Fantastic recipe. To thicken the sauce, pureed poatoes may be added along with the potatoe cubes. I have found this gives the dish a more authentic flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
I have been looking ALL over the place for this recipe. I never knew what it was called cuz I only had it at a friends house a few times. (she moved before I could ask her about it though) Anyway, this recipe ROCKS!!! I'm a vegetarian and it's really filling and good for you. YUM YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Great recipe! I loved the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was very tasty. I made a few additions and changes: added a couple onions and garlic after the spices, threw in a little generic curry powder, increased turmeric, eliminated sugar, added frozen peas, cilantro and little lemon when finishing up the cooking. I did not have the asafoetida powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I like a little extra liquid, so added a can of stewed tomatoes. With that, I needed to add add'tl seasoning. Very yummy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States