Aloha Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was very delicious. I did make a lower fat version by using applesauce instead of the butter, and egg substitute for the eggs. The reduced fat version was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
A wonderful quick bread. Didn't change a thing in the recipe and it was fantastic. The only change for me was decreasing the baking time. An hour and 20 min. would have resulted in a burned loaf... mine took about 65 min. Thanks for a great recipe I'll use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I just made this yesterday for the first time and even though I used applesauce for butter the taste (when warmed) was great. Add a little butter and it melts in your mouth. I ended up with a few to little bananas (only 3 small or 1 1/4 cups), used 1 3/4 cups coconut (I doubled the recipe and made 3 - 8" loaves. Used 1 drained 15 ounce can of crushed pineapple and followed the recipe otherwise. Oh BTW it only took me 1 hour to cook because of the smaller pans. Give this recipe a try you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great Recipe! I used brown sugar instead of white but otherwise left everything as is.... turned out wonderful. A very unique flavor. I will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Loved this bread. Followed the recipe except that I used sliced almonds instead of walnuts. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Easy to make and very tasty. Instead of 1/2cup butter, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce. Didn't have walnuts on hand, so I used pecans instead. Nice flavor and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! My boyfriend loved it, and he's hard to please. One change I did make was instead of using regular milk, I used some coconut milk that I had on hand. It made it taste more tropical, and I used less coconut flakes. Other than that, I kept it the same. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a very flexible and forgiving recipe. I made a lot of changes to it to fit my diet and what I had in my kitchen and it still came out great (but with the changes I made, it was not very Hawaiian). I used Splenda in place of real sugar, used ½ whole wheat flour and ½ regular flour, margarine in place of butter, I added about ½ cup rolled oats, used chopped apple in place of pineapple and I had no coconut, I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Mine was done at about 55 minutes. You could also add orange or other fruits, I assume and it would still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andymin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
My husband and I weren't big fans of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Yum Yum Yum... I doubled the recipe and used half butter/half applesauce, and then used half white/half brown sugar. Also used pecans instead of the walnuts. I baked one large loaf as well as 4 small loaves and they all came out perfect; beautifully browned and very moist. Will definitely make this again! the neighbors are in for a treat! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States