Aloha Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Yum Yum Yum... I doubled the recipe and used half butter/half applesauce, and then used half white/half brown sugar. Also used pecans instead of the walnuts. I baked one large loaf as well as 4 small loaves and they all came out perfect; beautifully browned and very moist. Will definitely make this again! the neighbors are in for a treat! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
My husband and I weren't big fans of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a very flexible and forgiving recipe. I made a lot of changes to it to fit my diet and what I had in my kitchen and it still came out great (but with the changes I made, it was not very Hawaiian). I used Splenda in place of real sugar, used ½ whole wheat flour and ½ regular flour, margarine in place of butter, I added about ½ cup rolled oats, used chopped apple in place of pineapple and I had no coconut, I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Mine was done at about 55 minutes. You could also add orange or other fruits, I assume and it would still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andymin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! My boyfriend loved it, and he's hard to please. One change I did make was instead of using regular milk, I used some coconut milk that I had on hand. It made it taste more tropical, and I used less coconut flakes. Other than that, I kept it the same. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Easy to make and very tasty. Instead of 1/2cup butter, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup applesauce. Didn't have walnuts on hand, so I used pecans instead. Nice flavor and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Loved this bread. Followed the recipe except that I used sliced almonds instead of walnuts. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Great Recipe! I used brown sugar instead of white but otherwise left everything as is.... turned out wonderful. A very unique flavor. I will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I just made this yesterday for the first time and even though I used applesauce for butter the taste (when warmed) was great. Add a little butter and it melts in your mouth. I ended up with a few to little bananas (only 3 small or 1 1/4 cups), used 1 3/4 cups coconut (I doubled the recipe and made 3 - 8" loaves. Used 1 drained 15 ounce can of crushed pineapple and followed the recipe otherwise. Oh BTW it only took me 1 hour to cook because of the smaller pans. Give this recipe a try you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
A wonderful quick bread. Didn't change a thing in the recipe and it was fantastic. The only change for me was decreasing the baking time. An hour and 20 min. would have resulted in a burned loaf... mine took about 65 min. Thanks for a great recipe I'll use often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was very delicious. I did make a lower fat version by using applesauce instead of the butter, and egg substitute for the eggs. The reduced fat version was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States