Aloha Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was a big flavor, moist quick bread that was a big hit with my group. I didn't make any changes. It only took 60 minutes to bake until a toothpick came out clean. A delicious, popular loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I used vegetable oil instead of butter, lactose free milk instead of regular milk and I omitted the walnuts only because I didn't have any. I made muffins out of this recipe, I was able to get 12 biggish muffins out of one recipe. Before baking, I sprinkled a little coconut over each muffin mound. My muffins were done at just about 22 minutes. We all really liked this muffin recipe--for me, I think the almond extract was a little out of place. Next time I make this, I'd use rum extract instead. These also were quite sweet, I think I'd cut the sugar in half next time. BUT, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
OMG SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scar

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I wanted to try this loaf as soon as I saw this recipe. I really enjoyed this, and so did my family. The only complaint I would have is that that little bit of orange zest overpowered the other flavours a bit too much. I have omitted it, or substituted lemon zest instead and love it! The banana and pineapple ensure a very moist, dense loaf every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Super yummy! I made this for my family along with another quick bread and they chose this bread as their favorite! I can taste all the ingredents (like the nuts and pineapple ect...) I made 2 loaves and there was still some batter left so i made muffins and they are great they take only 15 minute to cook! I will defintly make these again and shre them with all my friends because this bread is Y.U..M.M.Y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodeo Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made exactly as directed the first time and it is great! The second time I substituted coconut milk for the milk and it was even more moist and yummy. I took a couple of muffins to meet my son for lunch at his school and ended up breaking mine into a bunch of pieces to share with the kids. One little girl asked me if I would made it for her birthday cake! Another asked me if I could email the recipe to him mom! A huge hit. One word of caution- do not buy cheap canned pinapple. It doesn't taste near as good when you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this yesterday. I omitted the walnuts so my son could take it to school. I used candied peel as thats all I had to hand and it gave the bread a much stronger orange flavour. I could not taste the bananas but I don't mind that :P I used a bundt pan as my loaf tin was too small and it didn't need as long to cook. I took it out after an hour but probably could have taken it out sooner as it was a little crispy at the edges. A lovely taste, lots of coconut but I think I would add more pineapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I've been making this for years - it's so much better than the standard banana bread and a great use of ripe bananas. I skip the walnuts coconut and it comes out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I was so tired of using my ripe bananas to make plain old banana bread! This recipe saved me and was so delicious. Even my husband, who isn't crazy about fruit thought this was wonderful-he ate it for breakfast a couple days. My dad said it was like a Hawaiian Blizzard from Dairy Queen (his favorite kind) in bread form. I love the almond extract in this recipe, such a yummy addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I found this whole recipe disappointing. With all the ingredients in it, I thought it would be full of flavor, but I found it tasted flat. I make a lot of quick breads and found this is one recipe I will not try again. There are so many other ones out there that are tastier, have better consistancy and rise higher when baking. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States