Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I would certainly prepare this again, but only with a few modifications. First, it was way too salty. I will begin by at cutting the garlic salt back by at least half. Also, the ketchup flavor is too prominent; I will decrease the ketchup next time. With these modifications, I suspect I would rate the recipe at least a four--maybe a five. The flavor is decent and could be far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
My tropical themed event went very well and my guests loved this dish! I do, too! I used Ginger Juice, less onion powder as I spread onions and colorful sweet peppers on the bottom of my coconut oiled baking dish. Less ketchup and more brown sugar. Used fresh garlic and not garlic salt. Rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar. Marinated the raw boneless chicken breasts for 1 hour in vinegar mixture. Greased deap dish stoneware, placed peppers and onions, then chicken and topped with pineapple mixture. Baked at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Fabulous! I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and reduced the cooking time to 30 minutes total. I also used a lot less brown sugar, as the pineapple makes this dish plenty sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Good. Easy to make. I reviewed other comments before making it. Here are my suggestions. Full portion of ketchup is probably too much, but 1/2 is not enough (bottom line - to taste). I used boneless/skinless thighs - drained most of the fat/liquid off b4 adding the sauce. Also brushed both sides up front (double the vinegar/spice mix, use low sodium soy - skip the garlic salt, use powder or fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I used chicken breasts instead of bone-in chicken and baked it on a bed of veggies as someone suggested earlier. Then I served it over white rice. Everyone loved the mixture of tastes! The meat was very tender and juicy. My family said they especially liked the pineapple - my mother said that she normally doesn't like pineapple, but it was good in this dish. We're definitely going to make this again, especially since it was relatively easy and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Great tasting and very easy to make. The chicken almost melts in your mouth, and the rich mixture of the ginger & soy combined with the sweetness of the pineapple five it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was excellent. The only changes I made were: I only used three quarters cup of ketchup and because I found the sauce to be a little runny, I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch and water during the last 10 minutes of cooking, it thickened the sauce beautifully. My family were inhaling the aromas before supper and could hardly wait to eat. No one was disappointed. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe. Will be serving again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I loved it. It reminded me and a few others of L&L. great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I added some chili sauce, it gave it some pep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biggirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fast & easy dinner. I used chicken breast, since that's what I had. I also used teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States