Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I made this for my husband. He said it was good but the cider vinegar was a little to overpowering. Next time I will only add a little of that. I would recomment low-sodium soy sauce. It was yummy over white rice. Chicken is always fun to cook with. This was a recipe you either love it or hate it. I will have to alter the ingredients next time if I want to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
this is a wonderful recipe.Easy to make,with a great taste that does remind me of Hawaii!!! The entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I have to say that my husband will eat anything and he wouldn't eat this. The cider over powered and gave it a not so pleasant smell and taste. Leaving out the cider makes this a great dish. Full of flavor and taste when it mixes with the juices of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Good. Easy to make. I reviewed other comments before making it. Here are my suggestions. Full portion of ketchup is probably too much, but 1/2 is not enough (bottom line - to taste). I used boneless/skinless thighs - drained most of the fat/liquid off b4 adding the sauce. Also brushed both sides up front (double the vinegar/spice mix, use low sodium soy - skip the garlic salt, use powder or fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I opted to cook this in my crockpot and it was so easy. This is a great dish, with great flavor. Bright white rice add nice color contrast to the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I made a few minor substutions with this recipe to suit what I had on hand and I had ZERO leftovers!! To start with I used bone in chicken breasts, which did require a longer total cooking time. I only cooked it for the first round of the saucesless bake to help keep the breasts from being too dry. I was short on ketchup so I made up the difference with a small can of tomato sauce like you would use for chili and a few odd spices for flavor and I also added a can of mandarin oranges! My husband who HATES pineapple begged me for seconds!! I will definately make this again and again, of course, I'll have to double it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
this wasn't bad but it wasnt great either. My husband didn't care to much for it. He thought it to be to sweet and I would have to agree. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Very flavorful, a bit heavy on the soy sauce and salty taste, but a little adjusting of the ingredients will make that better for me, no complaints from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Great tasting and very easy to make. The chicken almost melts in your mouth, and the rich mixture of the ginger & soy combined with the sweetness of the pineapple five it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I agree with some of the other reviewers that the recipe had too much salt. I only used part of the basting mixture instead of the entire amount. The flavor is good but very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States