Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I made this for my husband. He said it was good but the cider vinegar was a little to overpowering. Next time I will only add a little of that. I would recomment low-sodium soy sauce. It was yummy over white rice. Chicken is always fun to cook with. This was a recipe you either love it or hate it. I will have to alter the ingredients next time if I want to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
this is a wonderful recipe.Easy to make,with a great taste that does remind me of Hawaii!!! The entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I have to say that my husband will eat anything and he wouldn't eat this. The cider over powered and gave it a not so pleasant smell and taste. Leaving out the cider makes this a great dish. Full of flavor and taste when it mixes with the juices of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Good. Easy to make. I reviewed other comments before making it. Here are my suggestions. Full portion of ketchup is probably too much, but 1/2 is not enough (bottom line - to taste). I used boneless/skinless thighs - drained most of the fat/liquid off b4 adding the sauce. Also brushed both sides up front (double the vinegar/spice mix, use low sodium soy - skip the garlic salt, use powder or fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I opted to cook this in my crockpot and it was so easy. This is a great dish, with great flavor. Bright white rice add nice color contrast to the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I made a few minor substutions with this recipe to suit what I had on hand and I had ZERO leftovers!! To start with I used bone in chicken breasts, which did require a longer total cooking time. I only cooked it for the first round of the saucesless bake to help keep the breasts from being too dry. I was short on ketchup so I made up the difference with a small can of tomato sauce like you would use for chili and a few odd spices for flavor and I also added a can of mandarin oranges! My husband who HATES pineapple begged me for seconds!! I will definately make this again and again, of course, I'll have to double it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
this wasn't bad but it wasnt great either. My husband didn't care to much for it. He thought it to be to sweet and I would have to agree. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Very flavorful, a bit heavy on the soy sauce and salty taste, but a little adjusting of the ingredients will make that better for me, no complaints from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Great tasting and very easy to make. The chicken almost melts in your mouth, and the rich mixture of the ginger & soy combined with the sweetness of the pineapple five it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I agree with some of the other reviewers that the recipe had too much salt. I only used part of the basting mixture instead of the entire amount. The flavor is good but very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States