Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Moist and tasty :) Adding a dash of cayenne pepper gives it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I did not like this recipe the way it is... it was way too salty. I made some changes. Instead of ketchup, I used one jar of spagetti sauce, one can of pineapple bits, a 1/4 tsp of garlic salt, 1/4 teaspoon of cloves instead of ginger and a couple dashes of soy sauce. I then added chicken legs and covered it; cooked it on top of the stove on medium heat for an hour. I like this recipe because it is so flexible! You can adjust it to suit your own personal taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was a great change from regular baked chicken and the kids didn't even break out the ketchup with this one! Great hawaiian taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
i followed a lot of the suggested changes in this recipe. we were very unimpressed. i didn't even save the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I would certainly prepare this again, but only with a few modifications. First, it was way too salty. I will begin by at cutting the garlic salt back by at least half. Also, the ketchup flavor is too prominent; I will decrease the ketchup next time. With these modifications, I suspect I would rate the recipe at least a four--maybe a five. The flavor is decent and could be far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Very good...served it over white rice. This dish smelled delicious as it cooked. I used boneless, skinless breasts. I used low sodium soy sauce, used fresh minced garlic, omitted the onion powder, and added crushed red peppers. Next time I'll bake it on top of green peppers and onions. Really tasty and the man liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I used chicken breasts instead of bone-in chicken and baked it on a bed of veggies as someone suggested earlier. Then I served it over white rice. Everyone loved the mixture of tastes! The meat was very tender and juicy. My family said they especially liked the pineapple - my mother said that she normally doesn't like pineapple, but it was good in this dish. We're definitely going to make this again, especially since it was relatively easy and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Even the kids liked it. My little one even ate the pineapples (which she doesn't like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I liked it, the picky kids liked it. I would have to say it does need some changes to make it really good. Way less garlic salt, less ketchup, less soy sauce. Then it should be really close to perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I have to agree this is not a very good recipe, once I started basting I knew there would be a problem. I ended up basically boiling the chicken in pineapple juice and the "spices" that were in this recipe for about 30 minutes, then I dumped it out and let the chicken cook in the "sweet and sour sauce" with pineapple...all was not lost =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States