Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
We all really liked this. I noted that some reviewers said it was too salty and I wonder if that might be your garlic salt. I have two different brands in my pantry: one brand lists 237 mg sodium per quarter teaspoon and the other brand lists over 500 mg in the same amount! Obviously, the two tablespoons called for in the recipe will be dramatically different depending on the amount of salt in your garlic salt. I used half the saltier garlic salt and half plain garlic powder. It was a fine salt level for us. Normally I brine my chicken before cooking, and in that case I'd use just garlic powder and skip the salt altogether. Also, I felt like i had too much pineapple mixture for four pounds of chicken. I used it all, but it just seemed like half as much would be fine. All in all, a great, easy, tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
We LOVE this recipe! The only alteration that I made was that instead of the Pineapple with juice I use the Pineapple with syrup. Very good with organic chicken thighs. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Love,love,love the sauce. I did cut the ketchup to 3/4 cup though. I've made this afew times now and like it best with chunked chicken breast, an onion chunked up and acouple sliced up bell peppers too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Billie
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This chicken was delicious! I gave it four stars only because I thought it tasted a little too tomato saucy. Next time I will use less ketchup. I also did not have as much gravy as I would have liked. Maybe I will add more pineapple juice next time so I have more gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I would describe this as interesting. . . I did not have all the ingredients on hand and made substitutions. I used fresh pineapple and ginger garlic paste for ginger powder. I also used chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I loved this recipe. I followed it exactly as directed and my boyfriend and I loved how it turned out. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was excellent. The only changes I made were: I only used three quarters cup of ketchup and because I found the sauce to be a little runny, I added 2 tbsp of cornstarch and water during the last 10 minutes of cooking, it thickened the sauce beautifully. My family were inhaling the aromas before supper and could hardly wait to eat. No one was disappointed. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe. Will be serving again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was a good quick recipe. I would advise reducing the ketchup by at least half. If using boneless skinless thighs cut all cooking increments by half as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I wasn't impressed at all with the recipe. The vinegar and also the ketchup were too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States