Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
This recipe is good, but not as presented, that is for sure. Take a real good look at this -- 1 tablespoon onion powder 2 tablespoons garlic salt Heavens! A tablespoon! With soy sauce, too? I knew this would be too salty, so I switched to 1 teaspoon each of onion powder and garlic powder (not salt). Then I used low salt soy sauce. Even then it was rather salty. Think next time I'll use minced garlic and onion instead. I also saw the cook time was ridiculous. It should only take about 30 minutes at that temp to cook bites of chicken. I basted 7 minutes each side and then cooked for 20 minutes with the topping. I still think I could drop the basting to 5 a piece. It sounds like this recipe was not only misprinted, but with the cook time and amount of ingredients, I think it was originally for a whole chicken pieced out. I also used pineapple chunks which I mashed up a bit, so that there would still be chunks which my kids love. Next time I will probably use those new shaped pineapples -- they're kind of between chunks and crushed. Once I made the necessary changes (and this was sheer guessing) it was kind of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This wasn't the greatest dish I've ever made, but my husband ate it anyway. My 3 year old HATED it. I read the reviews and cut the ketchup in 1/2 and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, but the ketchup flavoring is still overwhelming. Edible, but not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This had to be the worst thing I have ever made for dinner. I wish I had read the reviews before making this slop. The cook time for the chicken was way too long. My chicken was extremely overcooked. This dish was also way to salty-- so much it burned my tongue! I have no idea how this got such a high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
I didn't care for this recipe at all. You REALLY have to like the pinapple whith chicken flavor to enjoy it. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Very tasty, but I would limit basting time to 15 minutes and cook time to 30. Mine started to burn in the second basting. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
The only recipe on this site that we haven't loved. This was the worst thing I ever put in my mouth. We threw it out, then went out to dinner. With all the bad reviews, how did this get such a high overall rating?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
great combination of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
Cooking times are off--chicken was tough! And the ketchup and soy sauce mixture yielded a taste that was way too strong. Wouldn't recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
This is a tangy yet sweet dish.My kids didn't like it that well but I think it is a fairly easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
I thought the recipe was great except I would have to agree with other's it was a bit salty I think by cutting out the garlic salt and adding garlic powder or minced garlic would take away that over bearing salt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States