Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
In place of the 1/4 cup applesauce, I like to use a strawberry/applesauce snack cup, and 1 cup of chocolate chips. I've been using this recipe for a few years now with my variation and it turns out perfectly moist every time. :) I also don't fuss about exactly one cup of mashed banana. Usually 2 does the job just fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vorondwen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really easy and good. The gang loved it at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe was pretty good, although I did change it some. I added the zest of one orange and about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. The orange zest added a pop of flavour and the walnuts added that extra crunch. Next time, I will add in more cinnamon along with some vanilla and some nutmeg, but will also choose to reduce the amount of sugar that I put into it. Overall, it was a pretty good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margeux
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've been looking for a healthier banana bread, and this recipe has done it for me! I did make a few alterations: I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and only 1/2 cup all-purpose, used 1 egg instead of 2 whites, substituted raw sugar for white and decreased the amount to 1/2 cup, added 1/4 tsp of salt, added a handful of chopped walnuts, and lightly sprinkled the top with quick oats before baking. It could have used some more bananas, but I'm perfectly happy with how it turned out. Other reviews suggested adding 1 tsp of vanilla, which I had every intention of doing, but forgot. I imagine that would have added a nice, new depth to the bread. This is a great, basic, and healthy recipe to play with and build from. It turned out great... right out of the oven and drizzled with a little honey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margeux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
DELICIOUS!! My whole family loves it! I added a whole teaspoon of cinnamon and will probably add more next time. Also, I added a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and mixed those in at the end. It only took about 40 minutes to bake though. Will DEFINETLY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Did not like this very much. Maybe bc its low in fat or the fact that I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I'll be trying a different recipe for my next loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe. My family loves to spread butter thick on everything so this is a great, lighter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved it. Made a couple of changes. Little less sugar. Full teaspoon cinnamon. I used 2 egg whites and a third full egg. Only had one banana which added up to a half a cup so I upped the applesauce to 3/4 cup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was an excellent banana bread! I got rave reviews from my family when I made it, though I did tweak with the recipe a little by cutting the sugar to 1/2 cup and adding 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp salt and a tsp of vanilla extract. When I made it the second time around I added some peanut butter chips, which was also a big hit. I'll never use another recipe again! As a note to others, just make sure you don't overwork the dough and you won't wind up with a rubbery texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
wow this was really good. i used sarah's applesauce from this site, added 1/2 cup quick cooking oats & 1/4 cup walnuts. i also used 1/2 cup honey instead of sugar. hubby said it was really fragrant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States