Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I did this exactly like the recipe called and got a rubbery crust and a good yet bland inside. I will try to make this again with the suggestions from other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
For this bread being pretty much fat free, it was EXCELLENT! Yes, it does have a slightly different texture, but it's definately something that one could easily get past. The flavors are wonderful. I did add a pinch of salt to the dry ingredients and mixed the wet ingredients seperately, adding about 1 teaspoon of vanilla and an entire individual serving size container of no sugar added apple sauce (I'm guessing it was about 1/2 cup), then combining with the dry until just combined. I really LOVED this bread and so did my little guy who has already eaten 2 pieces, lol. This simple and wonderfully quick bread will be a staple at my house! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is the best low-fat bread recipe i've tried by now. I've substitute the banana with home made pumpkin puree. I cut down the sugar and i've used 0 calorie liquid sweetener (50 drops), i also added vanilla, all spices and 1 tbsp peanut butter (home made). What can i say: Delicious!! Because the pumpkin is low-calorie, the nutrition valories did changed a little: 71 ckal per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verity

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Some commenters have mentioned that there seems to be something missing. Actally, I think that thing is bananas! I tweaked this through several test runs, and this is the deal: DOUBLE the bananas and add a pinch of salt. Barely stir, just until everything is blended. I ended up with a moist, sweet loaf this way, just about perfect for a sour-cream-less banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It turned out OK with good flavor. It was soft, but also very chewy and dense, which I thought might happen when I noticed how dry the mixture was. It was quite difficult to mix together and perhaps because of that I over mixed it and it became dense. Anyways, perhaps a bit more applesauce would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsey8417

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
sooo goood used popular modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This recipe is amazing!!! I also used the suggestions on the Jan 7, 2004 review and she was spot on. I forgot to buy applesauce and used greek yogurt instead. I don't like cakes with applesauce anyway, they don't stay together and you can hardly eat them with a fork. The greek yogurt worked awesome! I made muffins and they are so nice and dense, I'll never use applesauce again. I am also looking into using honey or if I have to, Splenda and see how the recipe works that way. I may have to bake these every week!!! Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
blah, very boring. good thought, but it doesn't turn out very interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I love banana bread and this is so good! I replaced the white flour with wheat flour and used 1 whole egg and 1 egg white. I also added vanilla as others suggested and some chopped walnuts as well. What a great healthy version of banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made these yesterday. I used splenda instead of sugar and added nuts. I made muffins instead of bread and they were great. My husband grabs one and out the door he goes to work. It is great for cutting the fat out of a breakfast treat he likes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States