Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added raisins as well as honey and a splash of milk to replace the apple sauce and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
awesome! I love sweet treats that you can cut the oil/butter out of and not miss it. I replace 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour too for extra health benefits. Then I used one whole egg rather than the two whites. You can use closer to 1/3 c. applesauce, be generous with the bananas and conservative with the sugar. 3/4 c sugar makes it very sweet. 1/2 c. would still be fine. 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp vanilla would be good additions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I have made this several times now and have enjoyed it each time. Great recipe!! I added a bit more banana, not for any other reason than I love the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was a great recipe! I was leary of it because of other people's comments, but I made it with a little more banana (because I wanted to use all that I had), and it turned out great - surprised my wife by not telling her how low in fat it was until she tried it. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
A little rubbery the first day, but the taste was good. The texture did improve a little the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great recipe with a few changes. You must add half a tsp of.salt or the bread will lack flavor. Mix wet and dry ingredients separately then fold the wet into dry. Don't use a hand mixer for that part or your bread will be rubbery. I use 3 bananas and add a tsp of vanilla. Adding a tbsp of brown sugar (sprinkled) on the top makes a deliciously crunchy top crust. Thanks to the reviewer who left that tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good banana bread. I used the entire egg not just the egg white and I used 2 bananas. The loaf turned out great. So happy to find a recipe that doesn't require tons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I gave this 1 star b/c my daughter liked it. The crust was hard and the bread was sticky and heavy..... Sometimes recipes need butter! I was really dissapointed b/c Im trying to eat healthy and this was really discouraging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I used apple butter in place of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have made this twice now and it came out absolutely perfectly both times! I love that I can count on that! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used 3 large overly ripe bananas, 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg, 1 whole egg in place of the egg whites, and used 1/3 cup unsweetened organic applesauce. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup the first time, but both my husband and I thought it was a little under-sweet, so I used 3/4 cup the second time and it was perfect and not too sweet either. I mixed the wet ingredients and dry ingredients in two separate bowls and then added the wet ingredients to the dry. I used an electric hand mixer on the lowest setting and mixed until JUST combined. Sometimes if you over-mix a batter, it can become dense and rubbery. The second it's incorporated together, stop mixing. I baked it in a greased 9x5 loaf pan for exactly 50 minutes (I have a gas oven and it may make a difference as far as the cooking time) and it was perfectly done. Soft and moist and delicious - and made the house smell so good while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States