Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Sandee1
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Fabulous! I tweaked it a bit as well and it was fantastic. As another user did, I decreased sugar to 1/2 cup, increased apple sauce to 1/3 cup, and added a dash of salt and nutmeg. This will be my new go to banana bread recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandee1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is fantastic! I used Splenda instead of sugar and 1 cup whole wheat flour. Perfect. Can't even tell it's lowfat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Excellent! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Britain, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I add a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract to get more flavor. Also, I bake 25 degrees lower with foil covering it so the crust doesn't get as tough. For time, just keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I would've given it a full 5 stars, but I did make some minor adjustments. I used whole-wheat flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup applesauce, added a teaspoon vanilla and threw in some chocolate chips. This is a great basic recipe that is easily tailored to suit your individual tastes. Not over-mixing the batter with these kinds of breads is important. So I mix the wet ingredients and sugar together, and mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Then I combine the two and mix until just moistened. I then fold in the bananas and chocolate chips. The consistency was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
It turned out perfect, I too made changes, I used 1/2 c. whole wheat flour,1 c unbleached all purpose flour, 1/2 c. organic cane sugar, 1/2 tsp. sea salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1 egg, 3 smashed banana's, 2 tsp. vanilla, 1/3 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. nuts. So it's still almost no fat - very moist with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this recipe twice. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, increased the applesauce to 1/3 cup, added 1/4 t salt and a dash of nutmeg. I sprinkled brown sugar over the top before baking. It came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherrieG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a very good recipe! I followed some of the suggestions in the reviews and it's wonderful. I did add extra banana and applesauce (and added a few chocolate chips), and I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour. I made muffins instead of a loaf, and it was delicious! I used my 'paddle' attachment on my mixer so it didn't overmix everything, and they were moist, delicious and sweet- not rubbery at all. Thanks to the person who noted about using very ripe bananas- mine were very soft and the skins almost brown. I think that makes a big difference in how well they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McDaniel Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Springs, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rutledge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I added some flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I've made this many times and everybody loves it. My brother, who refuses to eat low-fat most of the time, ate this entire loaf in one day. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States