Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I followed the advice of other users and changed the recipe in the following ways: I only used 1/2 cup sugar, I added 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, I used one whole egg instead of 2 whites (I only had one egg), I used 3 bananas instead of two and 1/3 cup applesauce, added 1tsp vanilla extract and 1tsp almond extract, and 1/4 tsp. salt. I also added 1/4 cup chopped nuts. It tastes great, and I didnt get a rubbery crust at all, as some people did. It's easy enough that I'll definitely be making it for my next school bake sale, which I don't often do, since I usually have way too much homework :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
617 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
i also wanted to give it 4.5 stars. it's a good recipe to start with but after reading countless reviews on things that should be added, i decided to heed their warning. i mixed the dry ingredients in a separate bowl than the 'wet'(apple sauce, bananas, sugar, egg whites) ingredients. and i added 1/2 tsp. salt to the dry mixture and 1 tsp vanilla to the wet mixture. then i mixed the dry ingredients into the wet gradually till moistened, followed by walnuts(they complement the banana flavor so well!). another nice touch is to top the batter in the pan with a mix of brown sugar and a little water. it gives the crust a sweet crunch. anyway, it smelled so good while it was baking that my roommates couldn't even wait till the bread cooled before they scarfed it down. hope this helped. sorry it was so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This is great. I couldnt find my banana bread recipe so i tried this one. It will be the recipe i use for now on! My guess is that the people who have chewy or heavy bread are stirring too much, and the people with not enough flavor are using bananas that are not ripe enough. The nastier they look the better they are for bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I was looking for a great low fat banana bread. This is it, but I did tweak the recipe a bit. I added nutmeg instead of cinnamon and also vanilla as others had suggested. I also added 1/2 tsp salt, which I believe is the "missing" ingredient some reviewers were talking about. With these changes the bread was FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Almost passed this one by due to the fat free nature...but am I glad I didn't! Had to rub it in dh's face when he said he loved it! Used 3 ripe bananas, added choco chips and nuts for fun, 1/2 nutmeg and upped the cinnamon due to some reviews saying it was bland, and cut the sugar. To sell my husband on a healthy recipe is something! Made it as muffins, 350 for 18 min. Perfect. Thanks. TStephensx7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This turned out great! Very moist. As someone else suggested I added 1/8 teaspoon of salt and a tablespoon of vanilla. I think those are the missing ingredients. Probably over strirring is why some are having it turn out rubbery. Great lowfat alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I'd like to give this one 4 1/2 stars. As an earlier reviewer wrote, it was a bit "rubbery" but that didn't take away from the fact that it was delicious! I modified it slightly: replaced 1/4 c. of flour with 1/3 c. oatmeal, added about 3/4 c. raisins and 1 tsp. of vanilla. The aroma while it was baking made my mouth water! And to think I picked this one because it was listed first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
this is absolutely gross....i don't know if it's cuz something went wrong in MY baking..but i've made banana bread before! the bread was really tough, kinda has a really heavy muffin-like texture, that tastes BAD! i think the applesauce made it really BAD, it gave it a weird kick...probably exacerbating the texture....GROSS! bad bad bad, don't make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Very easy good way to use left over banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have made this twice now and it came out absolutely perfectly both times! I love that I can count on that! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used 3 large overly ripe bananas, 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg, 1 whole egg in place of the egg whites, and used 1/3 cup unsweetened organic applesauce. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup the first time, but both my husband and I thought it was a little under-sweet, so I used 3/4 cup the second time and it was perfect and not too sweet either. I mixed the wet ingredients and dry ingredients in two separate bowls and then added the wet ingredients to the dry. I used an electric hand mixer on the lowest setting and mixed until JUST combined. Sometimes if you over-mix a batter, it can become dense and rubbery. The second it's incorporated together, stop mixing. I baked it in a greased 9x5 loaf pan for exactly 50 minutes (I have a gas oven and it may make a difference as far as the cooking time) and it was perfectly done. Soft and moist and delicious - and made the house smell so good while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States