Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Margeux
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've been looking for a healthier banana bread, and this recipe has done it for me! I did make a few alterations: I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and only 1/2 cup all-purpose, used 1 egg instead of 2 whites, substituted raw sugar for white and decreased the amount to 1/2 cup, added 1/4 tsp of salt, added a handful of chopped walnuts, and lightly sprinkled the top with quick oats before baking. It could have used some more bananas, but I'm perfectly happy with how it turned out. Other reviews suggested adding 1 tsp of vanilla, which I had every intention of doing, but forgot. I imagine that would have added a nice, new depth to the bread. This is a great, basic, and healthy recipe to play with and build from. It turned out great... right out of the oven and drizzled with a little honey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margeux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
DELICIOUS!! My whole family loves it! I added a whole teaspoon of cinnamon and will probably add more next time. Also, I added a 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and mixed those in at the end. It only took about 40 minutes to bake though. Will DEFINETLY make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Did not like this very much. Maybe bc its low in fat or the fact that I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I'll be trying a different recipe for my next loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe. My family loves to spread butter thick on everything so this is a great, lighter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved it. Made a couple of changes. Little less sugar. Full teaspoon cinnamon. I used 2 egg whites and a third full egg. Only had one banana which added up to a half a cup so I upped the applesauce to 3/4 cup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was an excellent banana bread! I got rave reviews from my family when I made it, though I did tweak with the recipe a little by cutting the sugar to 1/2 cup and adding 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp salt and a tsp of vanilla extract. When I made it the second time around I added some peanut butter chips, which was also a big hit. I'll never use another recipe again! As a note to others, just make sure you don't overwork the dough and you won't wind up with a rubbery texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
wow this was really good. i used sarah's applesauce from this site, added 1/2 cup quick cooking oats & 1/4 cup walnuts. i also used 1/2 cup honey instead of sugar. hubby said it was really fragrant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I love this and its so good for you! I used whole wheat flour, 3 bananas, cinnamon applesauce, and a tsp of vanilla, nuts when Im in the mood. It is very moist and great for an on the go breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I didn't really li a it. Even if I forgot the sugar. Plus it was heavy and was best warm out of the oven. Not very good the next day. Sometimes, the real fat version is best, especially for breads, cakes, or muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is my new recipe for banana bread. It is absolutely wonderful and crazy low fat. You won't miss the traditional heavy banana bread, promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States