Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a really good recipe and the fact that is has almost no fat makes it even better. I just used one egg instead of two whites and added nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This banana bread was GREAT!! I only tweeked the recipe a little by using one whole egg instead of two egg whites, and i added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of vanilla. The whole family thought it was fabulous! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Bread looks beautiful and tastes pretty good for low fat. I guess I just don't like the extra stickiness you get with low fat recipes. It's just a texture thing for me. I would probably make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemaking101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melmomof2
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Excellent if you love Banana Bread, but hate all that old fatty stuff that is in the old fashioned kind! I used 1/2 whole wheat pastry and 1/2 white flour, only 1/2 cup sugar and did 1/4 of that brown. I used 3 bananas, dash of salt, dash of vanilla & nutmeg and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melmomof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I Love this Recipe! Out of all the healthy/low fat banana breads I've made over the years, this one turned out the tastiest! I substituted Splenda Brown Sugar (1/2 cup), Whole Wheat Flour, added 1/4 cup of walnuts & 1/4 cups of ground flax seed to make it lower in sugar, higher in fiber & good fats. This makes a balanced low-fat healthy banana bread for the whole family! Yum. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny2G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
In place of the 1/4 cup applesauce, I like to use a strawberry/applesauce snack cup, and 1 cup of chocolate chips. I've been using this recipe for a few years now with my variation and it turns out perfectly moist every time. :) I also don't fuss about exactly one cup of mashed banana. Usually 2 does the job just fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vorondwen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really easy and good. The gang loved it at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe was pretty good, although I did change it some. I added the zest of one orange and about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. The orange zest added a pop of flavour and the walnuts added that extra crunch. Next time, I will add in more cinnamon along with some vanilla and some nutmeg, but will also choose to reduce the amount of sugar that I put into it. Overall, it was a pretty good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margeux
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've been looking for a healthier banana bread, and this recipe has done it for me! I did make a few alterations: I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and only 1/2 cup all-purpose, used 1 egg instead of 2 whites, substituted raw sugar for white and decreased the amount to 1/2 cup, added 1/4 tsp of salt, added a handful of chopped walnuts, and lightly sprinkled the top with quick oats before baking. It could have used some more bananas, but I'm perfectly happy with how it turned out. Other reviews suggested adding 1 tsp of vanilla, which I had every intention of doing, but forgot. I imagine that would have added a nice, new depth to the bread. This is a great, basic, and healthy recipe to play with and build from. It turned out great... right out of the oven and drizzled with a little honey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margeux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States