Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I loved it! Used 3/4 C whole wheat flour and 1/2 c oats instead of regular flour, halved the applesauce and egg, and added walnuts. Turned out wonderfully! Didn't have baking powder so I just used 1 1/2 tsp baking soda. Also didn't have just cinnamon so I used pumpkin pie spice in its place with a dash of ginger. I used a minimal amount of truvia instead of sugar and topped it with an almond greek yogurt frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I have to say this is a great banana bread recipe. I thought about adding a little oil, but I am glad I didn't. Usually, my "healthy" banana bread recipes taste healthy. This one tastes moist and full of banana flavor! Give it a try. I made a few changes, as per prior reviews and personal preference: 3.5 bananas, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, 2/3 cup white sugar, 1 cup whole wheat sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup oatmeal, omitted cinammon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
The end result was very rubbery. It is moist, but little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Awesome Sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is awesome! Great flavor and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Heller
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was impressed to the recipe did not include any oil or butter so I thought I would give it a try.. I doubled the recipe and used three egg whites plus one whole egg and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I also added a tablespoon of apple butter since my applesauce was unsweetened. It turned out well and was very moist and not rubbery in texture. I would make it again although I do prefer my regular full fat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Heller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I added a few chopped pecans, mashed 3 “small” bananas with my immersion blender, and used Truvia Baking Blend in place of the sugar. Baked in two 6”x3-1/2” mini loaf pans for 35 minutes. Many recipes that I’ve tried using applesauce as a fat replacement haven’t worked, but it REALLY works in this recipe. I’ve made many different banana bread recipes (many fat laden), and this one measures up to the best of them. It’s easy to make, very moist and tender, full of banana flavor, and pretty healthy. An excellent banana bread recipe that’s going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Loved it was some slight modifications. Being that I'm a bypass patient, I changed a few/added ingredients: whole wheat flour, Splenda instead of sugar and added one cup of raisins and 3/4 cup of sliced almonds. Took another's reviews and also added nutmeg, vanilla extract, extra cinnamon and extra baking soda. Increased apple sauce to 1.5 cups... Delicious! (I made a double batch!) my new favorite desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Excellent!!!! Very easy and taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Followed advice from reviews and made the following changes, used white whole wheat flour, 1 full egg, 2 large bananas, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp of salt and did not over mix batter (by hand). Then baked for 50 minutes. Kids loved it just as much as the last recipe I made with bread flour and real butter. I think nuts would be delicious, but my kids don't do nuts in bread, just yet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States