Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added raisins as well as honey and a splash of milk to replace the apple sauce and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
awesome! I love sweet treats that you can cut the oil/butter out of and not miss it. I replace 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour too for extra health benefits. Then I used one whole egg rather than the two whites. You can use closer to 1/3 c. applesauce, be generous with the bananas and conservative with the sugar. 3/4 c sugar makes it very sweet. 1/2 c. would still be fine. 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp vanilla would be good additions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I have made this several times now and have enjoyed it each time. Great recipe!! I added a bit more banana, not for any other reason than I love the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was a great recipe! I was leary of it because of other people's comments, but I made it with a little more banana (because I wanted to use all that I had), and it turned out great - surprised my wife by not telling her how low in fat it was until she tried it. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
A little rubbery the first day, but the taste was good. The texture did improve a little the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great recipe with a few changes. You must add half a tsp of.salt or the bread will lack flavor. Mix wet and dry ingredients separately then fold the wet into dry. Don't use a hand mixer for that part or your bread will be rubbery. I use 3 bananas and add a tsp of vanilla. Adding a tbsp of brown sugar (sprinkled) on the top makes a deliciously crunchy top crust. Thanks to the reviewer who left that tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good banana bread. I used the entire egg not just the egg white and I used 2 bananas. The loaf turned out great. So happy to find a recipe that doesn't require tons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I gave this 1 star b/c my daughter liked it. The crust was hard and the bread was sticky and heavy..... Sometimes recipes need butter! I was really dissapointed b/c Im trying to eat healthy and this was really discouraging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I used apple butter in place of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have made this twice now and it came out absolutely perfectly both times! I love that I can count on that! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used 3 large overly ripe bananas, 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg, 1 whole egg in place of the egg whites, and used 1/3 cup unsweetened organic applesauce. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup the first time, but both my husband and I thought it was a little under-sweet, so I used 3/4 cup the second time and it was perfect and not too sweet either. I mixed the wet ingredients and dry ingredients in two separate bowls and then added the wet ingredients to the dry. I used an electric hand mixer on the lowest setting and mixed until JUST combined. Sometimes if you over-mix a batter, it can become dense and rubbery. The second it's incorporated together, stop mixing. I baked it in a greased 9x5 loaf pan for exactly 50 minutes (I have a gas oven and it may make a difference as far as the cooking time) and it was perfectly done. Soft and moist and delicious - and made the house smell so good while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States