Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I agree with SpecialK (Feb. 28, 2011); this truly is pretty darn close to the real thing. Although I liked it immediately after preparation, I found that the waiting time does improve the flavor. I have a "go-to" tofu egg salad recipe that I THOUGHT was pretty good until I made this. The ingredients' proportions are right on. I THINK what put it over the top was the real (Hellman's) mayo. Only two T. for the entire recipe..not a deal killer IMHO. My other recipe uses "fake" mayo. Fake is OK for some applications, but not particularly for a recipe that already reduces the cholesterol tally by a landslide. As usual, moderation is the key to a healthy diet. Jeninga75...try it with less or no turmeric if that ingredient is off putting, as it can be at times. I will be making this again:) Oh! and I like the idea of using it on toast (brioche?) Perhaps add a crispy leaf of lettuce? Hint: Use a pastry blender/knife to mash the tofu. Works like a charm:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Llano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very good! Press the tofu for as long as you can - I think I let mine sit for several hours. I ate it on flatbread, drizzled with either mustard or sriracha (the sriracha was amazing)! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I used to buy eggless salad at Trader Joes until they discontinued it. This is as good and a whole lot cheaper. I don't like sweet salads, so I left out the sugar and the pickle relish.I also added 1/2 tsp.of dried chives to make it taste like I remember.Don't forget to thoroughly drain the tofu or you end up a soggy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I neglected to see the part that told me to let it sit in the fridge. It was still good! I put it on homemade Amish Bread found on this site. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
You need to try this recipe! It is delicious. The flavors are spot on and - unless you are a fanatic about avoiding anything to do with tofu because you just have to have animal products - you will enjoy this immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
don't let looks fool you with this recipe because if you go by the way it looks you'll definitely miss out on a delicious treat FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Fooled my carnivorous family members! They were shocked that they ate something healthy and didn't even know it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Wow! REALLY good! My husband still does not know this is not real egg salad. I did try to sub the mayo with Greek yogurt as I have been very successful with that in the past, but it was an utter fail. Way too sour. So I did use real mayo, and I strongly recommend doubling the sauce, as the tofu soaked it all up and it was rather dry. I also only used 1/2 tsp of turmeric as I didn't know if that was adding to the bitterness. Skipped the dill & relish since we're not fans. Served on toasted English muffins. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I'm not a vegetarian, but I have vegan family members, which is why I made this. The vegans loved it, and some of the non-vegans, too. They didn't know it wasn't "real" egg salad until I told them. I thought it was "ok," but I was little apprehensive making it (I don't often like what I make). Good alternative to the real thing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States