Almost Caramel de Lite Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I don't know that these tasted anything like the Caramel de Lite Bars (at least we did not think they did), but they are good and extremely easy to make. Be warned that they are very sweet and a small piece goes along way. I only put coconut on one half so that the coconut haters in my family could have desert too. If you cut these to soon you will need to eat it with a spoon. They firm up nicely once they have cooled completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
These were very good! Although I did not think they tasted like the caramel delight bars that I am used to having, they were yummy and gooey, 2 things I love! They were harder to cut and get out of the pan, which was probably the marshmallows, and i added extra coconut, but will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I thought that these were really good in flavor. You really do need to wait until they cool completely (like a couple of hours) before you try to cut them or they will fall apart. The one problem that I did have was that they seemed to be too much for the size of the pan. When they were cooking it all boiled over and made a gigantic, burned marshmallow mess in the oven. I might try to make them in a 9x13 next time. All in all the flavor is good and I do think tastes like a Caramel de Lite Bar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
These were SOOOOOOO good! I love sweets and these were even rich for me. They are just like what we always called magic cookie bars except with a chocolate crust instead of graham cracker crust. I actually think it's much better and easier with the chocolate cake mix. I would've easily given these five stars but I wasn't a big fan of the marshmallow on it. I didn't like the gummy texture they got and I think it would've been better without it. Cannot wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
These were so super rich! I'm a sweet lover and could only handle a small bar. Make sure you have plenty of milk when serving these. I also want to stress that you have to make sure that these bars are cool before you cut them. Otherwise, you get a soupy mess which was still yummy, but presentation was lost. They looked so good and I got impatient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huskymom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Ummmm..... YUM! Think I just ate 1 too many, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Very easy to make & whole family enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very tasty bars...I don't think they tasted anything like the Girl Scout bars. Quick and easy however, stretching the cake mixture to 10x15 was really stretching it to thin, would have been better in a 8x10. As baked in a 10x15 jelly roll, the bar it self didn't hold very well and didn't get holdable pieces without falling apart and the condensed milk was stretched as well not being able to coat everything evenly for the size it was asked to use. I've made bars like this before and the last recipes I've made required an 8x10 pan. I will make these again but adjust to a smaller vessel. TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Two words WOW YUMMY....if I wasn't following a low gycemic diet I wouldn't share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States