Almond/Apricot Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I thought this was a delicious coffee cake. I added a little too much jelly and it kind of dripped down to the bottom of the bundt pan, so when I turned it out, the hot apricot jam dripped down the sides of the cake. I was initially disappointed, but once it cooled, I drizzled a white confectioners sugar drizzle over it and then sprinkled toasted almonds on top of that - it looked beautiful and tasted terrific. I'll definitely be making this again - thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Simple, elegant, and delicious! Made this for a holiday party and there was hardly any left to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OtisMcGinty
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made this recipe and it came out excellent! The only adjustment I had to make was +25 degrees (F) due to being over 3000' and, I added fresh sliced/quartered apricot to the preserve. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Excellent coffee cake that can be easily modified to the ingredients in your pantry and personal preference. I baked mine in a tube pan and added some fresh blueberries that needed to be used up. I also substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream and took the apricots out of pie filling and blended. It baked for 60 minutes at 350 degrees, cooled for 20 minutes and came out just beautifully. I'll be trying many more combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent! Enjoyed a hunk warm and oozy and then the rest sliced up beautifully a few hours later. Dusted with confectioner's sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I absolutely love this cake and got tons of compliments last time I made. I've made it with apricot and apple butter fillings. Both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a good "basic" recipe. The cake part is excellent and moist, it does neeed too cool and maybe sit overnight. I have made it 3 times. 1st time, the original, needed work. So I made up some tart pie cherries(2T corn strc.1/2 c. suger) I used a 8" square pan. I used 1 c. total almonds ( one time even slivered ) and then made a struessel for the top(with almonds). So I do think the original cake part is a great leaping off point but as is I think it needed something more to give it some pizzaaz!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
It was good....the only issue with the recipe I had was ending with the apricot jam on top. That was messy when plating the cake....I think next time I would end with the batter being the last thing I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIBAG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This is soooo good. Served it at church for Easter brunch, then again for a women's group. All loved it... and I have to restrain myself from eating more than I need:-) Will try the other raspberry/pecan ingredients another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe and it was way too sweet! I love the idea and will make it again with raspberry jam and less sugar. I think the tang of the raspberries will help (along with only using a scant cup of sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States