Almond Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was great. We used snack packs of cranberries instead of the golden raisins delicious!!! Gave the dish a better color and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I modified this a bit and was so happy with the results. I used brown rice only, used craisins and added celery and rosemary. this is really a nice dish and easy to modify!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I found this recipe when looking for a dish to take to a Thanksgiving feast. It was the hit of the day, and I've made it many times since, BUT I made substitutions from the beginning. I replaced golden raisins with dried cranberries and they are awesome. The color is fabulous and the flavor just a little tangy. I also replaced almonds with pine-nuts because it was Thanksgiving and I wanted to stick with new world foods. Acting on the new world foods principle, I frequently replace the brown rice with quinoa, but also like the brown rice version. Everyone loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
We love this recipe at my house. It goes perfectly with salmon and is great for leftovers. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I think the recipe as is has too much butter, you can cut it by at least 2 TBS. The chicken broth is optional, I just use water. I also add mushrooms and saute with the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Fees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Gap, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
very delicious!! I was looking for a recipe like this because we love a version that a Greek restaurant serves and this is very close. I only made a few changes to get the rice they way they serve it. Iused fresh dill instead of parsley, regular raisins, olive oil instead of butter, and added feta cheese. YUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
WOW super awesome... a great tasting recipe... i didn't have golden raisins so i used normal and it turned out great... I also cut back on the butter by about half and it was still plenty moist... might have been better with more butter... but i didn't personally miss it... another idea to make it a true Wisconsin dish is throw in dried cranberries instead of raisins... great recipe though everyone loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Took this to my bible study group and it was a big hit. As someone suggested, I cooked a 1.5 c 1/2 & 1/2 brown and wild rice combo in the oven at 375 for an hour. I also substituted craisins for the golden raisins. It went great with the rotisserie chicken main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I absolutely loved this. Really yummy. It made a ton though. I think next time I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is seriously delicious and elegant and a new staple for me. Add extra golden raisins, they make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This worked out surprisingly well for us, given that Hubs doesn't like wild rice and I don't care for brown. Mixing it up seemed to do the trick. I wasn't keen on the idea of the golden raisins, so I just stuck with the almonds. Overall, this had a kind of nutty flavor that worked out well with "Marinated Scallops Wrapped in Bacon," and "Spring Asparagus Salad," both recipes also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States