Almond Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I really liked it, but my hubby didn't. In all fairness though, he doesn't like "fruit with food" (craisens) and actually, really prefers white rice. So, I'm taking his feedback with a grain of salt. I followed the recipe as listed other then using chopped almonds because I did not have slivered ones. I also sprayed the baking dish with a butter-garlic spray grease, but don't think that added anything to the flavor. I really liked the long hands-free baking time.....it gave me plenty of time to make the rest of dinner and relax a bit. It is a beautiful looking rice dish and I'll make the side again. I'll only 1/2 it next time....that will be more manageable for my family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a wonderful side dish. I didn’t have any slivered almonds so I chopped some whole almonds and cooked it the same. The dried cranberries add nice flavor. I recommend watching the baking time because an hour would have been too long for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Very easy to make & tasty. We both loved this! I prefer to make a recipe as written but I had to improvise a bit based on my pantry - using cashews instead of almonds. Working with only a 1/2 cup of dried cranberries, I added 2 Tablespoons of sweetened coconut (after sautéing the nuts) to make sure I had a good sweet balance. The nuts and the coconut worked well! [I worried it would be bland and added another T of butter (to make it 4 not 3). The extra butter was unnecessary.] Oh! I forgot to spray the pan but it seems ok (esp w my extra butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this for the first time for a dinner with friends and they all raved about it. So simple ! I served with Cornish hens. Wouldn't change a thing & will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
The whole family loved this! I didn't have cranberries so I used currants and it turned out fantastic! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was okay. Will most likely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this exactly as is except that i skipped the toasting of the almonds in butter. I already had toasted almonds on hand. I also added the salt and pepper to the raw rice before cooking. I liked the simplicity of this recipe and that the flavours were complimentary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Loved it! Worth the time and effort. I used all wild rice too. Will try it with the mixed next time. Great change from plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States