Almond-Tipped Shortbread Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
these were very good, but didn't taste quite as good as they looked. I'm not sure how they got them to stay round in the picture, even when I refrigerated mine overnight before baking, they still flattened out when they baked. They still looked very attractive on the cookie platter though! I think I would try using almond extract instead of vanilla (per another reviewer) next time, that might add the extra special bit needed to take the flavor to the next level? I dipped some in white chocolate with almonds, some in semisweet chocolate with pecans and some with almonds, and some in melted cinnamon chips with pecans and some with almonds. The white chocolate (I used ghirardelli baking chips) and cinnamon chips don't melt smoothly to coat, but it helps if you add a few drops to 1/2 tsp coconut oil (not too much, or they won't solidify again). The semisweet chocolate was definitely the easiest for dipping, whereas the cookies sometimes crumbled or broke in the white chocolate because it is more solid. Of course even the broken ones got gobbled up very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I only give this recipe five stars because they would be perfect with white sugar instead of brown. I'm not sure if that was just a mistake in the recipe or what...but they will only be white if you use white granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Followed the recipe and the only thing I didn't do was dip them in nuts. Way too much fuss for not a great product. The fingers themselves were a too dry for my liking, I even threw some out. Then I had problems getting the chocolate to stick to the cookies. I don't think I would bother with these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this with almond extract and dipped them in milk chocolate. This is now my husband's new favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Awesome cookies! I gave these away as christmas presents....they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good and super easy! My 18 year old NON-cooking daughter has made this twice in the last week. Excellent holiday recipe. One change...we baked it like a pan cookie and sprinkled sliced almonds on top before we popped it into the oven. Then she shaved a Hershey's milk chocolate bar over the top of it as soon as it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willowbas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made half with vanilla and half with almond extract. Both came out awesome. Had fun dipping these in different dips, like melted dark chocolate, white chocolate, milk chocolate, and different kinds of sprinkles, and ground almonds. The plate looked so varied and beautiful. They were also really delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
We bake many different kinds of cookies at Christmas and this is my favorite!!! We do a little extra and dip the other end in milk chocolate and almonds!!! These are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States