Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I didn't trust it b/c the dough was so sticky and I had to add a LOT of flour while rolling out -- but these came out absolutely delicious. Delicate and melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
this recipe was pretty good, although i can see why some would use 2c as opposed to 2.5c flour. i creamed the sugar and butter really well (for about 4-5 mins using room temp salted butter), and folded in the 2c of flour. i had to knead the remaining half cup into the dough (along with about 1/4 cup chopped almonds and 1/4 cup mini choc chips). the dough was pretty crumbly, so i kind of "patted it" into two rounds before chilling for about 1.5 hrs. i wasn't able to roll out the dough (still too crumbly), so i just patted it out more and used my cookie cutters. i baked about 1/3 of the dough and got 13 cookies. i baked them for 20 mins, until they just started to lightly brown. the flavor was great, but were a little dry. they are definitely worth making again, but i will try it with less flour or more butter and see how that works out. thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe some of the cookies I dipped in chocolate other chocolate and chopped almonds. They were very tasty and enjoyed by the entire family. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Wonderful recipe. The only thing I did different was I rolled into logs and sliced after chilling as others had suggested. Perfect...thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Mick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
melt in your mouth! i loved them perfect coffee cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Really good cut out cookies that I'll be using at Christmas time this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought this was very good - I didn't roll it out but instead pressed it into a pie pan and then cut it into wedges after it was baked. I just sprinkled the top with sugar. I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
The consistency was lovely, buttery, flaky and literally melt in your mouth. However, the flavour was very plain. It would definitely need some more sugar and a pinch of salt. Next time I'll try it with brown sugar for more flavour, because the texture was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovin vanilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
good, tasted like Spritz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieWife
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These cookie are outstanding. After carefully reading the reviews, I solved the whole dilemna about too much flour-- I used my Kitchen Aid Standmixer. At first, the dough was very crumbly, but I let the beaters do the work and then it all came together! I uploaded a photo of how I made these-- they are very delicious and a keeper. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I would not change a single thing...I photographed how I made these on my food blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States