Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and when I took my dough out of fridge it was a rock I was mad, but then instead if throwing it out I put in mirowave for 1 min. thank god it was useable again! I made two logs rolled one in red sugar other one in green sugar and just sliced them looks nice (I wanted to roll out and cut with cookie cutter, but didn't want to mess to much). They look and smell nice love with tea in the morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a really nice recipe. I used my mix master and did not alter the ingredients at all. I just started on stir to keep the flour in the bowl and then sped up as the flour was incorporated. I formed two logs and rolled them in course decorator sugar before chilling. I sliced into 1/2 inch width and baked as the recipe indicates. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome. Flaky, crumbly, not too sweet. My dough was very crumbly and tough to work with, I thought maybe I had added too much flour, but it all came together after sitting in the frig for a few hours. I rolled into logs then sliced 1/2 inch thick and pressed some sugar into the tops before baking. I think I may have had trouble if I tried to roll out this dough and cut with cookie cutters. I love shortbread and have tried many recipes that did not work for me, but this one was perfect. Next time I will use orange or lemon zest in place of the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
delicious!!!!-kind of hard to mix but well worth it-will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very tasty! I measured the flour, sifted it and then remeasured 2 1/2 cups. (I had 1/2 cup flour left over!) I think that made all the difference in the world. I refrigerated my dough overnight and the next morning, let it sit for about 10 min before I rolled it out. It was a bit crumbly, but when I started to work the dough, it all came together. I rolled my dough out to about 1/4" thickness and cooked for 20 min. (I rolled my first batch out too thin and almost burnt them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and got average shortbread cookies. The taste and texture are nothing spectacular. I found that the dough was crumbly and difficult to work with, so other reviewer's recommendation to cut back 1/2 a cup of flour is very wise. There is no way I could use cookie cutters with the dough because it was impossible to roll it out. I instead made little balls and flattened them on the cookie sheet. Unimpressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Pretty good, but not so almond like. I think it needs more, and probably the nuts themselves to be really good. I have some left and am probably going to try to dip them in chocolate or something to liven them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I used only 2 cups of flour, and rolled the dough into two logs 1 1/2 inch in diameter, popped them in the freezer for an hour and sliced them into 1/2 inch thick cookies. Baked for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tough.to.be.tender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I USED 1 ROUNDED TBL ORANGE ZEST 2 tsp ORANGE EXTRACT ADD 1 tsp CINNAMON TO 1/2 C. SUGAR SPRINKLE ON COOKIES AFTER ROLLING OUT & AFTER BAKING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I loved this rich delectable cookie. Similar to the butter cookies you buy in tins. I made a few batches and added 1/4 cup more sugar the second time around, I just didn't think it was sweet enough. I brushed mine with egg white, and added a few drops of food coloring. The looked nice. They come out perfect if you cut them 3/8 an inch thick. It took a full 30 minutes in my oven and they came out perfect. Would make a great cookie to give in a gift basket for about any occation. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States