Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I decided to play around with my usual holiday shortbread and I thought trying a new recipe would be the first step - I kind of like that I don't have to use cold butter, it's so much easier on your arms if you don't use an electric mixer. The texture is much closer to traditional purchased-in-store shortbread and I received positive reviews so I just finished putting a second batch to chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Love this recipe-perfect taste, texture, also just used my mixer for the whole thing. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are fantastic! Followed ingredient list exactly, but used electric mixer. So easy! Topped with Almond Butter Icing and the first batch was gone in minutes. I'm still getting requests for the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UKJESSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I REALLY wish I had read the reviews FIRST. Like others, my dough was crumbly and just had NO HOPE of rolling out. So I pushed it down into a 9x13 pan and baked it like a crust. I'll probably just melt some chocolate over it or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
They did melt in your mouth... after much fussing and babying along. When I started to add the flour, I began to have some serious problems. I ditched the wooden spoon concept and went over to my hand mixer. There was no "smooth and well combined." It was like... flaky dough. After I let it sit in the bowl while I re-read the reviews, I decided I'd put it in the fridge. I took it out of the fridge and it was a rock. So, I microwaved it, got it room temp, and then ended up being able to roll it out between two pieces of saran wrap. I was almost going to throw it out when I said, oh, we'll just test it. They turned out. Not sure if it was worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayisdelirious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
After reading all the wonderful reviews of this cookie I decided to give it a try. Not sure what I did wrong but they never got to the oven. I left the dough in the frigde overnight (that may have been the issue, not sure) but when I took it out the dough was like a rock. Couldn't roll it it was so hard. I left it on the counter for three hours and it was still like a rock so I tossed it. Can anyone shed some light on this I really want to add these to my holiday baskets. Thank-you and Merry Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good. Buttery. Recomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I love shortbread and this is an outstanding recipe. I made no changes and used a mixer to ensure the ingredients were well combined. To roll out the dough I taped down parchment paper to the counter and lightly sugared the paper and rolling pin. I worked the dough a little to warm it up and then rolled the dough out with a rolling pin. No problems with crumbling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim H. L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I must have done something TERRIBLY wrong. It was nothing but crumbles, wouldn't spread out, nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and when I took my dough out of fridge it was a rock I was mad, but then instead if throwing it out I put in mirowave for 1 min. thank god it was useable again! I made two logs rolled one in red sugar other one in green sugar and just sliced them looks nice (I wanted to roll out and cut with cookie cutter, but didn't want to mess to much). They look and smell nice love with tea in the morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States