Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great recipe! If anyone is familiar with Fiori di Sicilia (extract that is vanilla + citrus) it is a great alternative to almond in these cookies! I used a teaspoon of this + 1 tsp vanilla. Cut down flour to 2 cups. They came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
good, but not great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by Iron_Lady12
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
UNBELIEVABLY EASY & GOOOOD!! So I never thought shortbread cookies were *this* easy but following this recipe I guess they really ARE! I followed the recipe's ingredients to the letter. I just changed the way I cut the cookies out & the decoration. Like another reviewer, I rolled the dough into a log. In addition I added amaretto-toasted almond trimming. I blanched about a 1/2 cup of raw almonds & toasted them in amaretto, let them cool & chopped them finely. So after rolling out my cookie dough into a log, I brushed on some egg wash and rolled the dough over the chopped nuts, wrapped in plastic wrap, chilled for the recommended amount of time, then cut them about 1/4 in and baked according to the recipe. They came out wonderful and now I'm storing them in my fave cookie jars. They're incredibly buttery, crunchy and just plain delicious!! I just finished eating one with ice cream for dessert...sooo yummy!! I highly recommend this recipe especially since it just nails the basics of shortbread cookies. You can always take the basics and build on them the way u like! Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iron_Lady12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Yummmm!!! This is so good!!! I didn't have any almond extract so I used maple extract and OMG! It's delish! I also took another reviewers tip and made them into logs and just sliced them! Awesome and this is def a keeper! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I felt compelled to set up an account here to review these cookies because they were that good. I made one batch for a valentines day party and we enjoyed them so much that I made another batch a week later. It's a really great, simple cookie that I would highly recommend! I did make some minor alterations to the recipe based on others comments: -added 1/4 tsp salt -cut flower down to 2 cups -added 1/8 cup brown sugar -added an extra 1/8 cup of granulated sugar -added an extra tsp of almond extract -refrigerated in a log shape for an hour and then cut quarter inch slices instead of rolling it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie-Cat
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These were pretty good! I usually bake chewy cookies and I was looking for something crispier for a change and this did not disappoint. These shortbreads had the buttery, melt in your mouth crispness that I was looking for. I followed the ingredients as listed, except for adding 3/4 cup crushed almonds. Also, instead of dividing and chilling 2 hours, I simply shaped the crumbled dough into a log (about 1.5 feet long) on a piece of waxed paper, rolled it up in the paper, and chilled it for about 20 minutes. Then I sliced the cookies 1/2" each, dipped the tops in sugar, and baked for about 20 minutes. We really enjoyed these and I'll make them again. PS-- I also used an electric mixer when making the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Great, very buttery. Made them as part of a selection of christmas cookies for the kids' teachers. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Great easy recipe! Only used 2cups flour as well. Made thumb print cookies. Light and crisp. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I did one batch just as the recipe stated...liked them so well, I mixed up a second batch and used marschino cherries too. I divided the dough in half, placed it in Saran wrap and made it like refrigerated dough. Refrigerated it 20 or 30 minutes, then cut the dough into 12-almost equal pieces...rolled it by hand into "ropes" about 6 to 8-inches long. Took a marschino cherry and began rolling the dough around the cherry, creating a "pin-wheel" ...sprinkled red sugar over the cookie and backed according to the directions...so pretty and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States