Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious! Made these for my brother as shortbread is his favorite. Dipped some in chocolate and they were a hit. I rolled into a log and sliced chilled dough instead of rolling and cutting. Would defininetly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made these cookies following the ingredients exactly. Used my KitchenAid stand mixer as other reviewers suggested and had absolutely no problem with texture of dough. Rolled into logs, refrigerated overnight, let sit out for just a little until slightly softened and sliced into circles. I topped half with granulated sugar prior to baking and left the others plain. Once baked, I dipped the plain cookies halfway across with melted white chocolate and then sprinkles. Absolutely delicious - perfect amount of crispness. Everyone loved them. Will definitely make again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm not sure why, but I was unable to roll out this dough (after following instructions exactly). It was too dry and crumbly. I tried letting warm back to room temp but it was still too crumble. Instead I pressed it into the bottom of a metal pie pan (1/2 the dough into 1 pie pan), pricked it thoroughly with a fork, and baked about 25 minutes or til light golden. It was delicious cut into wedges. But I was disappointed I couldn't use my cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellacious1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
wouldnt change a thing awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pauline
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe is very tasty. As stated by previous reviewers, this dough does get rock hard! But you just need to work the dough a bit with your hands to warm it up. I rolled my dough to about 1/4 inch thickness and used a snowman shaped cookie cutter to cut out the cookies. Each time I gathered up the dough, I rolled it out to 1/4 inch thickness and stuck it in the freezer for 5-10 minutes. It was the perfect consistency for cutting out my snowmen. I also baked the cookies at 325 degrees for 15 minutes. (My cookie cutter was 5 inches long) The cookies turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Just made these...I have to say thank you for all the reviews because I think they are the reason I thought this recipe was so easy. I made one circular log and one square log and put them in frig for 1 hour. I did roast almonds, crushed them fine and mixed with sugar and cinnamon and rolled the cookie logs into that before slicing them. (and the hint of using my Kitchenaid for every step was especially helpful....You were right...having the mixer beat the dough longer allowed it to become soft and smooth...not crumbled like some people reported.) My 5 year old helped me sprinkle colored sugar on them just before setting them into the oven. Simple, easy and yummy. Thanks for this recipe. I never made shortbread before because I thought it was a very hard cookie to make. This was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great recipe! The dough was a little tough to work with because of the fact that it was kind of crumbly, so instead of rolling it out I simply rolled it into little balls and flattened them with my palm on the baking sheets. They turned out fantastic and everyone kept asking if I had bought them from the store! Great with tea or coffee, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snapitssarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I followed this recipe to a t last year and my family and I loved them. We enjoyed them so much they were eaten in 2 days. I'm planning on making them again this holiday season. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaCarriere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I didn't have a single problem with this recipe! I Put the butter in my Kitchen Aid and whipped it for at least 5 minutes, then the sugar and almond flavoring (a sin not to use real butter and real almond flavoring)and whipped another 5 minutes. Scraping the bowl now and then. The flour mixed in perfectly and the finished cookie was melt in your mouth heaven! I've also used ground almonds in the recipe and it's also wonderful. My husband couldn't stop making yummy noises! Thank you so much Robin for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I used half flour and half almond powder. I blenderd whole white almonds into powder and used that for the half of the flour. This way you have more almond taste! It's great recepi and even better on my way. Keep up the great work with baking cookies, bye Marja
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States