Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Definitely disappointing. I read a few reviews before making this recipe. They were all rave reviews, so I thought I'd give the recipe a try. The dough was very crumbly and hard to roll out. When the cookies were done they were tasteless and dry and I could hardly taste the almond flavor. If I make these again, I would use only 2 cups of flour (or less) and add more sugar and a little more almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Terribly dry recipe. Wish I'd have read the reviews first and cut the flour down to 2 cups. Couldn't roll it out. Had to press it into a cookie sheet and hope for the best. Even then when it came out it didn't stick together. Waaaaay too much flour in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These cookies tasted good, but I had to add another 1/4 cup of butter to bind everything and I set them for 25 min and most of the first batch burned. I will try again as it was my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Instead of white granulated sugar I use confectioners sugar...Instead of 2 1/2 cups of flour, I use 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of cornstarch (total 2 cups)...the cornstarch makes it melt in your mouth and more delicate..I also add 1/4 tsp salt...and I use either vanilla or almond extract....sometimes both!...these cookies are very addicting and I have had many raves at cookie swaps.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made this using brown sugar instead of white sugar. Made a great recipe awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were really great. We fought over them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Amazing recipe even with my blunders! The only things I did differently were: 1) I substituted the almond extract with vanilla because I didn't have any almond extract. 2) Rolled the dough into logs before chilling and cut up afterwards. 3) I accidentally put only half the butter in and only realized it after I had added the flour. I added the rest of the butter and it still turned out great! Chopping up the butter into small cubes and letting it sit at room temperature for a few minutes made it easier to whisk together as well. Great basic and very yummy shortbread cookie. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
What a marvelous sugary treat! I like to coat my cookies in white sugar after taking them off the baking pan. I also don't bother with using cut outs, that takes forever. Just drop the dough on the pan as though baking choco chip cookies, and they are just fine. I also don't bother tinkering with this recipe. Made it "as is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nefertiti381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
i made this one and omg it was amazing A pluss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
A very good basic recipe that should be a basic in any recipe collection. Excellent flavour. Possible to ring changes - leave out the almond essence and use orange, lemon, vanilla. Make them thinner and sandwich two together with a chocolate or vanilla buttercream. Additionally, would make an excellent strawberry shortbread with the addition of fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States