Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Good tasting cookie but definitely don't use as much flour as recommended or might have issues with it being too crumbly/dry (as I did - so added one egg white to stick it together). But still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Absolutely, THE best almond shortbread. I followed the recipe to exactness. I only modified the presentation. I cut mine into bars and sprinkled finely diced almonds on the top of each bar before baking to give it a little crunch. Immediately after removing from the oven and sliding onto a cooling rack I sprinkled sifted powdered sugar over each bar. FABULOUS BUTTERY DELICIOUSNESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I found mine a bit sticky for rolling flat and I don't have the patience. So I rolled small bits in granulated sugar before cooking them and they came out tastey and pretty looking! My family enjoyed them a lot but I ate most of the batch myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This makes a pretty nice cookie--I thought the texture was great. I agree with the reviewers who recommend reducing the flour a little (I used 2 1/4 c), and absolutely get the butter and sugar nice and creamy. The almond taste is pretty subtle, though. Next time I might add some ground almonds, or perhaps extra extract. I also rolled the dough into logs and sliced cookies, rather than rolling and cutting out. I found that chilling for half an hour was sufficient for this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I don't love shortbread in the first place, which is what keeps me from rating this five stars, BUT I followed the instructions (except I used imitation almond extract instead of the real thing), and the cookies turned out exactly how they should have. The trick is to make sure the butter and sugar is mixed really well, and stir the flour in gradually. Next time I will add the almond frosting that other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Outstanding! This recipe is simple and classic. Instead of struggling with a wooden spoon, I just used my electric mixer to do it all. First I beat up the cold butter, sugar and extract, then added the sifted flour and put the mixture on "stir." Those who said it was crumbly didn't stir it long enough. I took other reviewers' advice and used only 2 cups of flour. Also, I rolled it into a 2.5 inch log, chilled, then sliced the cookies 1/2" thick. They baked in my convection oven for 20 mins and were perfect! Soft and delish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I found it very hard to roll but the taste was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelly, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was a flop. The dough was so dry, it was impossible to roll out. It simply crumbled to bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Pretty good although i did make some changes. Used 1 1/2 cups flour and 1/2 cup powdered sugar. Rolled dough into a log shape and popped in the freezer for 15 minutes, then sliced into 1/2 inch cookies. Baked as instructed. I wanted a soft shortbread, these were a little crispy but this could have been from my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
great tasting shortbread but not the easiest to work with. i am making four batches of star shaped cookie lollipops right now. i will dip in white chocolate and decorate with colored royal icing. what i learned: too crumbly. i ended up having to get the dough to stick together by sprinkling a little water on the dough. i used less flour in subsequent batches. i prefer the taste of almond extract in shortbread. i probably would not roll and cut into shapes if i wasn't making for friends. probably an easier recipe if i just press into pan, prick with fork, and cut into wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States