Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was quite divine. Easy and moist (with four cups of rhubarb) and classy. A winning recipe. Thanks for making me look good for my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Checked many sites, this one stood out, as previous cooks were able to adjust so many ways to their liking! I made in the bundt pan and added 3 full cups of rhubarb. Coked for 55 minutes @350. Once cooled, I drizzled icing made with amaretto and it is delicious! I ate two pieces, my husband ate FOUR, yes ladies - 4! Very nice flavour, moist and would maybe add more topping next time. When I served a piece to my son, my husband kept swipping the topping off my sons' piece! Excuse me while I get another piece - ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
The cake came out perfect. I used walnuts because I didn't have almonds at home. All my friends like it also because it wasn't to sweet. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jbwicky
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I harvested my Rhubarb last night and started poking around the internet see what kind of coffee cake I wanted to make with it. This was so easy to make and delicious, I also had everything I needed already in the pantry. My husband is gluten intolerant so I subbed the wheat flour with Gulten Free Mama's Almond Flour Blend and added a 1/4 tsp of Xanthan Gum and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I also made muffins rather than 2 rounds because I didn't have 2 round pans, and baked for 25 minutes. They turned out perfect, literally perfect. So delicious, I will be making these again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jbwicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Couldn't taste the rhubarb, but, the cake was delicious non the less! Will be making again next time we get fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColinJohnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Loved it because it's not super-sweet-over-the-top like so many desserts now and I have lots of rhubarb to use. I like the crunch the almonds give throughout. I chopped whole almonds rather than buying sliced & used 1/2 cup organic cane sugar in place of some of the brown sugar bc I ran out. Next time I will try more rhubarb and applesauce for 1/2 the oil like others did & try a bundt/ring pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was good, thanks for sharing! I kept tasting salty bites though, even though I felt like I mixed well...so will have to be more careful with that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I make lots of rhubarb recipes and keep very few - they just don't 'do it' for me.. This one, though, is a keeper! I love the addition of almonds on top. I did make changes that other people had suggested - almonds only on top, cinnamon in the topping, and using applesauce instead of oil. I also used 3 c. of rhubarb. I also made it in a square cake pan to keep and two small loaf pans to give away as gifts. They all turned out great! I'll be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very tasty, but very crumbly! I made in 2 9-inch round pans, and it was fragile after it cooled. Loved the sugared almonds on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Bravo! Added 3 cups rhubarb, no almonds in batter, almond extract instead of vanilla, and topping x 3. Coffee and donuts at church...people took some with them "for the road" and requested the recipe. Yeah...well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States