Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I work at a B & B. I decided to make this coffee cake because I was craving rhubarb. Well, am I ever thankful this made two cakes! I served only 4 guests but they each had two pieces! Unheard of, at least as far as sweets usually go. This was DELICIOUS and then some. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe. I will definately be making this in the future. Of course, I may also be tempted to try it with raspberries or strawberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
We really enjoyed this cake. I used just 2 T oil and 5/8 c applesauce to reduce the fat and calorie count. I also replaced the vanilla with almond extract and added a few extra drops to the topping. I also baked in a sheet cake pan instead of rounds. No adjustment was needed on bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Like others I found this an easy cake to make and irresistible when cooked. I did change the almonds for walnuts as I love them also added 3 cups of rhubarb and an extra teaspoon of baking soda. Again like a lot of others I didnt put the nuts into the mix but only ontop and added extra. I also poured the mix into a 11 inch cake tin lined with greaseproof and baked for 45 mins it was perfect. Will use this time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Llanidloes, Montgomeryshire, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This is a good basic coffeecake. I made a couple of changes: I used 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb and that seemed a good amt, I substituted unsweetened applesauce for half of the oil (worked great!), I left the almonds out of the batter and felt the almonds in the topping were enough, I used almond extract instead of vanilla (ok-but I'll use vanilla next time.). My biggest piece of advie on this recipes and any other rhubarb recipe is to NOT bake it in a shiney aluminum baking pan. The rhubarb reacts to the metal and while it doesn't affect the cake, it does damage the pan with spots where ever the rhubarb touches the pan. This was a yummy way to use up rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This was really good. I made a batch and a half and used one 9-in pan and one 11-inch deep dish pan. The bigger one took about an hour in the oven and came out perfect. The almonds were the best part...they tasted like pralines with all the butter and sugar baked on them. I added cinnamon to the batter and the topping. I wasn't sure if it was a typo or deliberate, but rhubarb coffee cake with no cinnamon??? I don't think so. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe for using all the rhubarb I have this year. I thought it just needed some tweaking. The adjustments I made are: use 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond, replace 1/2 the flour with whole wheat (you hardly notice), didn't put the almonds in the batter, 2 1/2 c rhubarb (my husband and I both agree that it still needed more), replace 1/2 the oil with applesauce (I think it wound up moister that way), and used egg powder & powdered milk (both reconstituted) in place of the egg and milk. Can you tell I'm trying to use my food storage too? :) I think it turned out great, but my husband wanted walnuts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
easy to make; if you want a definitive rhubarb tartness you may want to add more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Very tasty. Be sure to brown the slivered almonds in the oven before using them. I microwaved the rhubarb to soften it, and then squeezed out the water, before adding it to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is a very beautiful cake! I increased the rhubarb and topping as others have suggested. I took one cake into work and saved the other for home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
We loved this. Cut the recipe in half to make one cake and didn't add almonds to the batter - just extra for the top. I think it was the almonds that made it so great for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States