Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I made this for my mother to take to work where it was a hit. I veganized it by substituting 1/4 c. soy yogurt for the egg, and soy milk for the regular milk. I also added about 2 cups of rhubarb and didn't add nuts to the batter. My topping was a mixture of walnuts, oatmeal, granola, white sugar, and enough margarine to make it crumbly (about 2 tbsp). I also baked in a 13x9 baking dish. When it was cool I put a powdered sugar glaze on it, because all breakfast things taste better with sugar glazes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caiti Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was really good, however, I changed a few things. I added 3/4 c coconut, 1 tbsp cinnamon and 1 cup of blueberries. I made muffins instead. I also added coconut to the crumb mixture along with the almonds and cinnamon. I ate 3 of them....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I like this recipe. Tried making it after reading all the reviews as well as reading some other rhubarb cake recipes on this site. Some reviewers thought this didn't have enough rhubarb and suggested increasing the amount to 4 c, in addition to substituting almond extract for the vanilla extract; however some had problems with a soggy cake. I thought I would try a different approach and cut down on the competing flavors and a little sugar and see if maybe I could draw out more of the rhubarb flavor. My substitutions were: 1 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/3 c. oil, 1/3 c. applesauce, (vanilla extract was perfect for our taste at 1 tsp.), 2 c rhubarb, 4 strawberries, chopped. All in all I was pleased with the result, which was a moist cake that presented really well and tasted like rhubarb and almonds, flavors my family really enjoys. I guess if you are looking for a recipe that emphasizes just rhubarb, I would suggest you keep looking, but if you want a unique cake that has several complimentary flavors I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
i made this recipe one day when i had some extra rhubarb on hand and it turned out wonderful. i ended up baking it with walnuts instead of almonds in a bundt pan, which worked well. of course i put the topping on the bottom of the pan, so when you flip the cake out, the mixture is on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I made this for work today in a 9x13 pan exactly as is--topping was pretty, everyone loved the almonds in it. No one would know there was rhubarb in it if I didn't put the recipe near the cake. Next time, I will decrease the sugar (or add more rhubarb) and try it in a springform pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadiemitzi
Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Very moist and sweet! My husband accidentally bought cane sugar instead of brown sugar, but it tasted just fine. I also put did 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat. I also added a touch of cinnamon. All in all it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Wonderfully moist and delicious! Non-rhubarb eaters loved it too! I followed other suggestions and substituted applesauce for most of the oil, increased the amount of rhubarb to close to 4 cups, added 1 cup strawberries, used almond extract in lieu of vanilla, and used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend for baking. What a hit at work! Yummmmmmmy! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Boy I thought I would like this better based on all the great reviews, but it was SO soggy! I did go ahead and put in 4 cups of rhubarb, as recommended by others. It was still hard to taste the rhubarb, so I can't imagine using only 1 1/2 cups. This was also not sweet enough for me, but that's more personal preference than anything. It was really the sogginess that will keep me from making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I love Rhubarb so I thought I gotta try this cake on Mothers Day based on the ratings. I was disappointed as I grew up with Rhubarb desserts and cake and hoped for a great cake. It put 4 cups of Rhubarb and replaced half the oil with applesauce. I should have added even more Rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Great Recipe! Here are my changes. I added about 4 cups of rhubarb, substituted applesauce for about half the oil, and baked it in cupcake tins. The 4 cups of rhubarb was perfect. I like the flavor of rhubarb and so I was able to taste it but it was NOT overpowering or too tart. I didn't change any sugar amount. I baked in cupcake tins for about 25 min. Turned out great. I definately recommend this recipe but just add more rhubarb. Making this recipe again this morning. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVEFLYNUNS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States