Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a wonderful coffee cake. I followed the recipe exactly. At the last minute after I already had the topping on, I decided to double the topping. I made the second batch of topping with brown sugar instead of granulated - so each cake had a little of both on top. The cake was moist and flavorful and the combination of the 2 sugars was a nice change of pace. Everyone loved this - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This cake is very moist and so good! I used 1 cup of apple sauce instead of the oil to lessen the fat content. I also baked it in a sheet cake pan. It baked to perfection in 35 minutes. My first coffee cake! I will make it again! A great way to use my mass amounts of rhubarb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Got a wet pasty cake and lacking in flavor. I was so looking forward to enjoying this cake but had to toss it; always sad to toss something after putting all the work into making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was so good, but I didn't think the topping was enough for both coffee cakes, so I doubled the butter, almonds and did white and brown sugar. Still could have been more, but was so goodl Going to do it with apples blueberries next time - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
this coffee cake looked wonderful, made it and it came out tuff. not sure what i did wrong. in the picture it looked wonderful mine looked like a pancake. were we suppose to use baking soda? or powder? the recipe said soda. hmmmmmm any ideas?and when you say white sugar did you mean granulated or powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Awesome! I couldn't get enough of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
loved it! Extra rhubarb and almonds on top. so light and fluffy for a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Excellent coffee cake, made a 1/2 batch & added a few strawberries. Will definitely make again, with or without the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Absolutely to die for! I used fresh rhubarb from my garden and couldn't wait to share it with the office staff for brunch. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I couldn't resist buying some fresh rhubarb at a market last weekend so I decided to come here and find a recipe for rhubarb coffee cake (my father being a huge fan of both rhubarb and coffee!) I used whole wheat flour and replaced the oil with applesauce. I also used walnuts instead of almonds because I find they are a more interesting taste in cakes. The result was delicious! A nice, dense coffee cake that still tastes amazing with the healthy modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mediterranean Miss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States