Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was pretty and tasted good too! I increased the amount of rhubarb to 2 cups and subbed buttermilk for the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I am always looking for new coffee cake recipes as I own and operate and All Natural Bakery and a B&B. This recipe was stupendous!!! Because we are all natural/organic, here are the modifications that I made. I freshly ground my soft white wheat into pastry flour right before I mixed it up. (Fresh ground flour makes a world of difference in whole wheat baking) I then used organic evaporated cane juice for the sugar. I used 2 cups of fresh rhubarb right from my garden. I also did not put the almonds in the cake part of the recipe only in the toping.I tripled the topping portion of the recipe and added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg as well as a 1/2 cup of the pastry four. I used 2 - 9" spring form pans sprayed with non stick cooking spray and then I dusted them with the organic evaporated cane juice before filling. I had to bake the cakes about 10 minutes longer. They turned out fabulous!!! I will definitely be using this recipe on a regular basis. Nice and moist with great flavor!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Delicious and easy. I followed the directions exactly and was thankful the recipe made two coffee cakes. The almond streusel topping is delicious and really dressd up these cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Kansas, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very good. Super easy. Used 2 cups Rhubard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Inspiring. I don't understand these people giving one away! We gobble them both up! They go quickly. I also put 3 cups of rhubarb in, and that makes it perfect. Thanks for the recipe! We go crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Wonderful!! I used some less brown sugar and saved all the almonds for the top! I served it at my B&B and everyone raved about it and even took more than 1 piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This gets an enthusiastic 5 stars! As other reviewers suggested, I also used half applesauce in place of half the oil. I only had 1 c. plus 1 T. brown sugar, but it was just the right sweetness for us even with doubling the tart rhubarb to 3 cups. I put almonds on top and in the batter as directed and liked it that way. I know I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by Elena
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is amazing! I only wish I'd had more rhubarb--I was only able to use 2 c. I adore the topping though, and will likely use this on other cakes and muffins as well. Following the advice of other reviews, I subbed applesauce for half the oil and left the nuts out of the batter. I also added a dash of cinnamon to the topping, to give it a little extra kick. Delicious! I'm tempted to eat it all myself. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a wonderful coffee cake. I followed the recipe exactly. At the last minute after I already had the topping on, I decided to double the topping. I made the second batch of topping with brown sugar instead of granulated - so each cake had a little of both on top. The cake was moist and flavorful and the combination of the 2 sugars was a nice change of pace. Everyone loved this - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This cake is very moist and so good! I used 1 cup of apple sauce instead of the oil to lessen the fat content. I also baked it in a sheet cake pan. It baked to perfection in 35 minutes. My first coffee cake! I will make it again! A great way to use my mass amounts of rhubarb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States