Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Family liked it. I thought it was ok. It did not rise much, and was dense though moist. The amount of sugar and oil in it is the reason I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is such a good recipe! I was looking for ways to use some frozen rhubarb, I didn't want to make the usual pie, muffins, or rhubarb crisp. This recipe is SO good, makes a very flavourful cake that is very moist. Also freezes well! I made a couple changes...added 1 tsp of amond extract to the batter along with the vanilla, and also added a simple icing sugar/milk glaze to the top of the cake after baking and cooling. SO GOOD! We're looking forward to trying this recipe with different fruits too, but will definately be making this again and again, this recipe now has a home in my permanent recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was pretty and tasted good too! I increased the amount of rhubarb to 2 cups and subbed buttermilk for the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I am always looking for new coffee cake recipes as I own and operate and All Natural Bakery and a B&B. This recipe was stupendous!!! Because we are all natural/organic, here are the modifications that I made. I freshly ground my soft white wheat into pastry flour right before I mixed it up. (Fresh ground flour makes a world of difference in whole wheat baking) I then used organic evaporated cane juice for the sugar. I used 2 cups of fresh rhubarb right from my garden. I also did not put the almonds in the cake part of the recipe only in the toping.I tripled the topping portion of the recipe and added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg as well as a 1/2 cup of the pastry four. I used 2 - 9" spring form pans sprayed with non stick cooking spray and then I dusted them with the organic evaporated cane juice before filling. I had to bake the cakes about 10 minutes longer. They turned out fabulous!!! I will definitely be using this recipe on a regular basis. Nice and moist with great flavor!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Delicious and easy. I followed the directions exactly and was thankful the recipe made two coffee cakes. The almond streusel topping is delicious and really dressd up these cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Kansas, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very good. Super easy. Used 2 cups Rhubard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Inspiring. I don't understand these people giving one away! We gobble them both up! They go quickly. I also put 3 cups of rhubarb in, and that makes it perfect. Thanks for the recipe! We go crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Wonderful!! I used some less brown sugar and saved all the almonds for the top! I served it at my B&B and everyone raved about it and even took more than 1 piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This gets an enthusiastic 5 stars! As other reviewers suggested, I also used half applesauce in place of half the oil. I only had 1 c. plus 1 T. brown sugar, but it was just the right sweetness for us even with doubling the tart rhubarb to 3 cups. I put almonds on top and in the batter as directed and liked it that way. I know I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by Elena
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is amazing! I only wish I'd had more rhubarb--I was only able to use 2 c. I adore the topping though, and will likely use this on other cakes and muffins as well. Following the advice of other reviews, I subbed applesauce for half the oil and left the nuts out of the batter. I also added a dash of cinnamon to the topping, to give it a little extra kick. Delicious! I'm tempted to eat it all myself. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States