Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
These are delicious! They're equally good with a plain cookie crust if you find yourself short on almond paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I brought them to work and they disappeared! I used whole wheat flour and no one could tell the difference. I didn't use as much coconut as it said, I just sprinkled some on. I could have eaten the whole batch if I hadn't shared it with my work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Great flavour combination! :D I like my merengues a little more dry, so I elongated the second baking time.. and lowered the temperature for that to 130 celcius. Also I used homemade blueberry jam.... Just perfect! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by uscberta
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Great recipe- all my friends absolutely loved them! They're fall apart pretty easily if you're not careful when you cut them up, but they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was simple and so good, I had to freeze the extra to stop everyone from eating to much. Even from the freeze the taste as great. This recipe will be kept and used for Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawhuska, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I'm ashamed to admit that I overmixed the egg whites so they were watery (I just bought a powerful stand mixer that I;m learning to use). No problem! I just added a little more coconut. The sweet aroma of almond blended perfectly with the raspberry and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I decided to try these because I was looking for something different than the traditional cookies and brownies. My husband absolutely loves them and has already eaten half the pan in half a day. He says the crust is the best - the perfect soft texture. I was surprised that the crust turned out as soft as it did -- it didn't appear soft after the first baking, but the jam must soften it up. I like them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wonderful bar and nice to have almond paste in the crust. Love almond flavor in anything. The only change for us is to use apricot jam because we prefer it with the almond taste. This, of course, is a personal preference and not a criticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very easy and quick. The Almond Paste was a little hard to find and not cheap! Made a kinda expensive cookie but it was a hit at the cookie exchange! Cut into small squares because it's so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I made these bars last year and they were the hit of our christmas treats. My mother-inlaw loved them so much she asked me to send her the recipe so that she may make it for the rest of her family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States