Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These are divine- I really love them. I used almond paste from Germany (who's fancy? lol) and half whole-wheat pastry flour. I used a very high quality seedless raspberry jam; used a whole 10 oz. jar. I've never made meringue before, so I was afraid of over-beating it, and as a result, didn't beat it enough. My layer wasn't very thick at all, and it didn't have the right texture, but it still tasted good. Before I make these again I will practice making meringue. I love the delicate almond flavor highlighted by the tart raspberries. Fresh raspberries on top, like another reviewer did, would make it even better. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Made these to go on my Christmas cookie trays and I received alot of compliments on them. I let them cool overnight and cut with a sharp knife dipped in hot water. Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkitts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I used Smuckers seedless and couldn't beleive the wonderful tart raspberry taste. When cut I decorated eache with a fresh raspberry and they were a beutiful and DELICIOUS addition to our Christmas Eve buffet table! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These are very rich so I cut them into small squares. The topping almost seems like marshmallow and coconut. They were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I just made these to go into my christmas cookie boxes that I make every year. I do not like coconut but I like these. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Honestly I wasn't sure how these would work out- they looked beautiful but the meringue almost seemed like it would slide off the jelly - but they turned out lovely and very good! I used a little more jam to spread over more evenly and it seemed like I might have used too much - but they ended up being a wonderful addition for my mother's christmas cookie exchange- thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was really good, but very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I hate to be the killjoy here but I found these bars to be way too sweet and the almond taste very overwhelming. It must be just me since everyone else loved them so much. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This recipe is awesome. Such an interesting combination I was not sure it would all work, but it did. I did not change a thing. And will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States