Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is the second time making these. I made them last Christmas. Everyone loved these and they look impressive also. Two notes: I find the almond paste doesn't get combined evenly into the butter, so next time I will shred the almond paste on a box grater into the butter, making it alot finer. Also, I didn't use foil. I used parchment paper (only) and it was FANTASTIC especially once the meringue had been baked. The whole bar (and paper) had shrunk away from the glass pan enough to just lift out cleanly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Total hit. I have to agree with other reviewers, though, that a little longer in lower heat for the second bake might have been good to set up the topping. It was good, but kind of hard to eat because it was pretty gooey. Maybe not a bad thing, though. I gave them all away and now I'm sorry I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Didn't have a mixer, so I beat the meringue by hand for about 2 hours, it didn't quite get stiff enough, but I finished the recipe anyway and everyone loved it. Soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
OK, these aren't even out of the oven yet, but just a word of warning to bakers out there that are going to try this recipe: Use the Meringue II recipe on this website and not the meringue instructions that come with this recipe ~ they DON'T work!! I wasted 3 egg whites and 1/2 cup of sugar...down the drain. It never set up even stiff peaks. The Meringue II recipe started forming nice peaks almost immediately, so I knew it would be right. It looked ok when I put it in the oven; let's hope it tastes good, 'cause right now I'm kind of ticked; I don't like wasting time or money, and tonight I did both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Ridiculously delicious!! Not a big fan of almond so I left the paste out of the crust but otherwise followed the recipe. These turned out amazing and will definitely be a new family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
these were positively delicious! the raspberry jam melts into the perfect sauce-type consistency and the meringue on top is amazing. 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morganc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made these bars for dessert, after dinner with my parents. I am a raspberry lover so I added more jam than was called for. They were soo delicious, a hit with everyone and something I will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cathlamet, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These were yummy. The almond paste made a nice taste in the crust. They baked up beautiful and cut nicely once cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I thought these were just OK. Crust seems too thick to allow the other flavors to 'hold their own' merits. If I make it again, I'll make 1/2 the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyLP
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Beautiful and delicious! I used the Shortbread Cookies II recipe on this website for the cookie layer (not being a fan of almond), and I had to cook the shortbread layer a little longer before adding layers. I used parmchment paper for lining (instead of greased foil), and cut the bars directly in the pan with a plastic knife once cooled. They removed easily and were stunning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States