Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I've made these two years in a row for the holidays and they are amazing. If you love almond and raspberry these are the perfect bars. So addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wonderful bar and nice to have almond paste in the crust. Love almond flavor in anything. The only change for us is to use apricot jam because we prefer it with the almond taste. This, of course, is a personal preference and not a criticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I love anything with almonds in it this is perfect. Going to make these next week for out ladies luncheon at church I know they will disappear right before my eyes. Will double this recipe as we have over 75 in our group. Thanks for this wonderful post it is a saver. Belle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
These are a nice change from the "cookie". THe rasberry layer is strong enough even though it doesn't look like much, may even reduce it next time just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FemmeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Easier to make than I thought. I was out of almond extract and used coconut instead, turned out fine. I don't have much experience with meringue and was a bit worried but it turned out fine. I used extra large eggs but the layer was not too much as others have complained about. The jelly layer does not look very thick but the taste is plenty strong. I really liked these and my boyfriend did too and he usually only likes chocolate desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemmeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I havent made a meringue before so I may have messed it up, but I am a seasoned baker and Im stumped why these turned out so incredibly soggy, they were actually swimming in liquid in the pan. I promise I followed the directions. Such a shame, they were so amazingly expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were delicious and quite simply made. I will certainly add them to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These bars were delicious and got eaten up right away, but... I did have some difficulty making them. Spreading the crust in the foil was impossible for me, and I decided to get rid of the foil and just spread it directly onto a very well-greased baking dish. I don't think it affected it much. Then, I somehow messed up the meringue part because once I started adding the sugar, it just got less and less stiff. I finally gave up and just put what I had on top. They still turned out very tasty, but beginners beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Mmm I am very happy with how these turned out! Made them for my family and mom & dad both thought they were delicious. They look really pretty & gourmet. I chose not to put coconut on top and opted for slivered almonds instead... it tastes really good and I'm happy I used them instead of the coconut. Also I used a full small jar of raspberry cranberry jam. The crust was hard to spread in the pan but it did work out in the end. All the effort was worth it and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very easy and quick. The Almond Paste was a little hard to find and not cheap! Made a kinda expensive cookie but it was a hit at the cookie exchange! Cut into small squares because it's so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States