Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I thought these were just OK. Crust seems too thick to allow the other flavors to 'hold their own' merits. If I make it again, I'll make 1/2 the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyLP
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Beautiful and delicious! I used the Shortbread Cookies II recipe on this website for the cookie layer (not being a fan of almond), and I had to cook the shortbread layer a little longer before adding layers. I used parmchment paper for lining (instead of greased foil), and cut the bars directly in the pan with a plastic knife once cooled. They removed easily and were stunning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Absolutely delicious and beautiful and freezes well. Made just as submited & wouldn't change a thing. Made them last night for the first time and was asked for the recipe by a guest who tried them. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I teach Culinary Arts at a high school. Two of my students made these and they were delicious!! They did have to add cream of tartar to make the meringue stiff enough, but other than that, the recipe was great. Thanks, Dinah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I really like this combination of flavors and didn't find it too sweet. I only used half the butter and it was enough, so I recommend doing that, and then you can mix in more butter later 1 Tbsp at a time if you feel so inclined. Meringue was a cinch, just whip it up in a standing mixer till it looks like shaving cream. Only trouble I had was spreading it evenly, so some bars had more meringue than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was good, not blow your socks off amazing though. I used blackberries and raspberries.I don't know that I would make it again. But my boyfriend did eat all of it. So...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatFitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I do a similar Raspberry Bar using a shortbread base and no merigue... def looking forward to trying this new twist :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These have long been favs in our household where they are called Louise cakes .My grandmother made them as did my mother and now I am making them for my grandchildren !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These are delicious and easy. The only trouble I had was that the crust was a bit greasy. Next time I will cut the amount of butter used in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States