Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Yummy! I had something like these Raspberry Almond Bars 30 years ago and have searched for the recipe all this time. Yaaay - finally found it! I used 100% raspberry fruit spread, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and the bars were perfect. I took these to a cookie exchange over the holidays and everyone asked for the recipe. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Excellent! We loved the almond flavor that came through in the crust. I added about 2 cups of frozen raspberries to the jam to tang the filling up a little (personal preference). This was amazing! thanks for a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very simple to make! It was good but I would prefer it with less crust and more raspberry. The crust was more cake style and seemed to overtake the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Wow!!! Best dessert I've baked in a very long time. Even my husband who is normally opposed to sweets, found himself sitting at the kitchen table with a fork just eating it like a meal! Definitely a keeper and I"m not telling any of my friends or family about it so I can keep it a little secret of my own :-) Mwah ah ah ah ah ah!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IleneRoberds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have not tried this yet tomorrow i will but i have a recipe for marzipan as one review said how it is expensive so here we go 1 cup confectioners sugar and 1 cup regular sugar2 cups blanched almonds 2Tablespoon brandy 1 extra large egg 1 teaspoon of almond extract put almonds, in blender and mix untill it will look like very fine bread crumbs loosen any clumps add sugar use blender or by hands, sift confectioner sugar and stir well, in another bowl beat egg and brandy and almond extract set the bowl over a pan of hot water or use double broiler beat until custard thickens slightly pour custard into the almond mix ture blend together it may take a little while for the sugar to dissolve and the oils from almonds to emerge at this point you should have a workable paste if you feel there is not enough liquid you can add more brandy but i didnt it should mold into a ball easly if it is to soft to make a ball you can add more almonds and sugar it is important at this point to wrap ball in wax paper or cling film and wrap tight so as it does not dry out i made this recipes as it is written so i hope you enjoy it as it is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSMOON
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These were very easy to make! I used a full 16 oz. jar of raspberry jam, and for the crust I used almond filling instead of the paste. I couldn't get myself to purchase paste for $5.49, though the filling was good enough at $3.69 a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These are sooo good! A new favorite for my family. Very easy, fast recipe that produced excellent results. I used a can of Solo Raspberry Pastry and Cake Filling in place of the jam and it worked out great. We love coconut but I thought 1/2 cup was going to be too much so I just sprinkled coconut on top until it looked like enough. These won't last long around here and I will be making them again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe. I've also made using cranberry sauce. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just made these for Christmas Eve - delicious! The only change I made was to use homemade black cherry jam instead of raspberry. Love the almond flavor. The dough was soft, almost like an almond macaroon. These will be made again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonalcooks
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
the fanciest dessert i've ever made. but worth it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States