Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It looked great when it was done, but it needed some sugar in the pastry part. It was like eating pie crust to me. I did add some preserves on the top to try to sweeten it up, but it didn't do the trick. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This makes a great brunch item but is good anytime. Excellent with coffee or tea. It is an old favorite that is just slightly elegant and wonderfully different from the usual fare. I have been asked for the recipe many times. It is only good for a day but there have never been any leftovers anyway so not a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is in my mother's old PTA Cookbook from the 1970's and I've been making it for serveral years now. It's worth making and is amazing if you like a pastry with just a touch of almond sweetness. I use almond extract in the frosting for more almond flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
A friend of mne reluctantly gave me this recipe years ago, saying it was a "secret family recipe." I guess the secret's out! It's more like a cream puff than a kringle, but SO good. It's a nice change from cake and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I love this recipe but it's missing a step. I made this yesterday and my recipe (from a different site) calls for one additional step after it's removed from the oven. I think you'll find it makes a huge difference in the finished product. Topping: Spread each warm pastry with about 1/3 cup of jam or preserves. (Any flavor is fine, but our favorites are raspberry and apricot.) Do this while the almond puff is still warm but not hot from the oven. Then you sprinkle with the toasted almonds and drizzle with the icing. I can't imagine this recipe without this step as it would seem very bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is good tasting but kind of bland like it's missing something. Have checked many recipes for this and all are exactly the same. Does it need maybe salt to bring out the taste and the sweet? Any one else experience this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent! I lost my recipe, so glad I found yours. My recipe didn't have a frosting recipe, it called for a can of white frosting. So if you are feeling lazy or time is an issue... I will try your frosting recipe to see which I like better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4roosters
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I grew up with this recipe. It's great to take for a bake sale instead of the usual cake or brownies. It goes quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4roosters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This reminds me of growing up, my mom used to make this all of the time. The wonderful aroma, when it is baking, still brings back fond memories! :) I have made this several times & it is always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SportyLori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jarrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years and it's always the first to go at potlucks! My friend made this delicious variation -- she placed fresh blueberries on top of the dough and covered them with the custard mixture before baking. Yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States