Almond Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This cake was delicious! I didn't decorate it, I just made a plain almond cake and topped it with the glaze. I added a little almond and vanilla extract to the glaze. Since I read the review that said the cake was dry, I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream. I cooked it in a silcone bundt pan that I got for Christmas (the first time I used it), so it seemed to cook slower. It needed the full hour but it browned nicely and was moist and delicious. My guests loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. The almond pound cake comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Very pretty pound cake but it needed some more flavor. Probably adding a teaspoon of salt and maybe some almond flavoring would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Pretty tasty. My sister (the taste tester) said it was more like cake not pound cake. but, what does she know. It was delish. Will make again, love the almond flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was the perfect end to our Christmas dinner. This cake is moist and tastes GREAT! A new Christmas tradition I have in this simple yet elegant cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gensler Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
This was okay. I Did not find the time required for forming marzipan leaves was justified on a simple pound cake. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This is an exceptional cake. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Delicious taste, but a little dry. I am going to try again possibly add sour cream or applesauce. If the changes work, I'll post them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This cake was incredible!!!! Everyone loved the marzipan holly leaves. I even took a picture of it :) I can see this being a holiday tradition for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I made this recipe without the marzipan, just as a simple pound cake. It was really easy to put together, and I didn't cook it the full 60 minutes either. Great for a fast pound cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States