Almond Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
It has 5-star taste, but it takes way longer to bake than the recipe says it should. Make it well ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni Ellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I just made it as a pound cake and in a loaf pan, it was very good. The first time, it ran over and was a little too buttery, but the 2nd time it made 2 loaves and was perfect. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEGGYMOMMA64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ladd, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This cake was extremely dry. The flavor was good (use "real" almond extract, not imitation). I didn't like the glaze - I would use something that's a little thicker and more obvious to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This cake was delicious! I didn't decorate it, I just made a plain almond cake and topped it with the glaze. I added a little almond and vanilla extract to the glaze. Since I read the review that said the cake was dry, I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream. I cooked it in a silcone bundt pan that I got for Christmas (the first time I used it), so it seemed to cook slower. It needed the full hour but it browned nicely and was moist and delicious. My guests loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very good but maybe a little heavy on the almond extract. 1 1/2 tsps. wopuld be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Very Disappointed by the results. It's okay as a brittle but it definitely didn't have a "macaroon" consistency. It turned into a sesame snap after 6 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPINK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I made this recipe without the marzipan, just as a simple pound cake. It was really easy to put together, and I didn't cook it the full 60 minutes either. Great for a fast pound cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe! ust thinking about it now makes my mouth water! After reading some reviews i only baked it for 50 minutes and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Sadly, I was disappointed. I think the 60 minute baking time was too long for me because my cake ended up very hard! The taste was good, and it was kind of moist in the very center, but otherwise it was pretty dull. I'll have to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was the perfect end to our Christmas dinner. This cake is moist and tastes GREAT! A new Christmas tradition I have in this simple yet elegant cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gensler Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States